Leon’s Cherry & Almond Cookies

OK so today I’m catching a plane from Sydney to the Sunshine Coast and, I’m hoping, coping BRILLIANTLY with international and domestic travel with a fickle 4-month old.  In my Other Life I’ve just made some biscuits from the Leon ‘Brownies, Bars and Muffins’ book. I think I thought the recipes would be better than they are, in terms of things I’d want to cook, but I shall keep at it. They use lots of interesting things like spelt flour. I’ll have another crack when I’m back in London.

These biscuits looked good on first glance. I think I fucked them up a bit but they tasted great regardless.

20130922-174412.jpg

Gather:-

200g unsalted butter, softened

235g soft brown sugar

2 small free-range eggs (I only had large so used one whole egg with extra yolk, maybe that’s why finished biscuits were a bit freaky)

130g plain flour

1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

185g rolled oats

150g dried sour cherries (I used dried morellos)

50g flaked almonds

75g choc chips (I used 100g of dark choc chips)

Pre-heat your oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4. Get a few baking trays sorted with oil/lined with sheets.

20130922-174416.jpg

Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy, and then add your eggs one at a time.

In another bowl mix together the flour, bicarb soda, oats, cherries, almonds and choc chips.

20130922-174424.jpg

Add the dry stuff to the wet, combining carefully and being careful not to overmix.

Continuing our fine tradition it looks somewhat like rather firm sick.

20130922-174420.jpg

Give the dog a beater. Do not confuse with beating.

20130922-174429.jpg

Lay out a good tablespoon of mix on the tray and flatten out if it’s fairly dry and/or cool. I think (i) my mix was a tad dry and (ii) I didn’t flatten things out enough. Leave lots of room to spread. If yours work then the cookies should spread to about 10cm.

Into the oven for 10-12 mins or until golden.

Let them sit on the baking sheets for a few minutes before you transfer to a rack. Eat.  Boyfriend assures me they taste delicious even though I DID THEM ALL WRONG.

20130922-174433.jpg

3 thoughts on “Leon’s Cherry & Almond Cookies

  1. narf77 says:

    First time I have seen the humble almond called “sweet and fragrant” before. You guys must have special almonds that we antipodeans miss out on. I sometimes think that it would be a smarter idea if we just ate the ingredients BEFORE we attempted to make them into anything. I usually prefer the taste of the dough/cake mix better than the finished product. That’s aside from the flour and the bicarb…not a great fan of flour out of the bag and would rather eat my own feet than even attempt to eat a teaspoon of bicarb (not recommended but if you are so inclined to try it who am I to stop you…”knock yourself out!” 😉 ).

    LOL “Give the dog a beater. Do not confuse with beating”. That has to be the single best line in a blog post that I have read in a month of Sundays. Kudos girl, you just rocked my boat :). The bickies might have been “meh” but the soliloquy was spot on for a Sunday morning when the clocks just went forwards and robbed me of my precious Pinterest time. But you already know that…right now you are waking up in the middle of the night to feed New Human and realising that some bastard just stole an hour of your day. Next time offer the beater to that bastard (lure them) and give them a beating from me! Seems we Eastern border dwellers think we are so much better than those over in the West but W.A. doesn’t take kindly to Daylight Savings where we are apparently it’s willing slaves…seems W.A. might be on the money this time. Hope the holiday went well and you both survived mentally intact as you won’t read this (probably, unless you are a blog addict and you might just be checking up someplace in Aus. which if you are, “HI!” 😉 ) till you get back to old Blighty and are nicely settled down into that wonderfully drizzling welcome home and finally get bored enough to warrant checking your posts for comments.

    • b-kom says:

      I am back! New post imminent!

      *jet lag face*

      • narf77 says:

        Bet the dog ate you and slobbered all over new human :). Glad to see you made it back to old blighty intact and you must be a super woman to be talking about blogging again so soon (or an addict…I am leaning towards the latter 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

