Ottolenghi’s Blueberry Crumble Muffins

I’m so freaking amazing this blog post will load at the same time as I am boarding a giant illogical A380 which will, I hope, take me to Dubai. From Dubai I’ll board a much less comfortable Boeing for the long trip to Perth. All with NewHuman being angelic, non-pooing, non-crying and generally being brilliant. I’ve never been a believer in the power of mantras and I am remarkably relaxed about doing long-haul with a baby, but nevertheless I am repeating the angelic thing to myself quite often.

I’m writing this as the previously posted biscuits are cooking. I made these muffins a couple of weeks ago. Four are in the freezer to keep the boyfriend going during my absence, the rest were eaten poste haste.  They are BEASTS, massive things, totally delicious.

Obviously as they are Ottolenghi it’s a bit of a faff to make them. He’s a pain in the ass.

20130922-171340.jpg

Preheat your oven to 170C/Gas Mark 3.

Line your muffin trays with paper cases.

Then you’ll want a crapload of ingredients:-

540g plain flour

5 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 free range eggs

340g caster sugar (I used 300g)

140g unsalted butter, melted

380ml milk

grated zest of 1 lemon (I didn’t use, couldn’t be arsed)

1 granny smith apple, cut into a 1cm dice

200g fresh blueberries, and a few extra 

for the crumble:

150g plain flour

50g caseter sugar

100g cold butter, cut into small cubes

20130922-171347.jpg

Make the crumble by putting the ingredients in a bowl and blending with your fingers. We’ve been here before, talking about how to make crumble. Just do it.

In another bowl sift together (and by sift I mean I chucked them all in and whazzed with a whisk) the flour, baking powder and salt.

In ANOTHER BLOODY BOWL (a bigger one) whisk together the eggs, sugar and melted butter – you need to make sure the butter isn’t too hot unless you want scrambled eggs. You don’t really want scrambled eggs in your muffins.  Whisk in the milk and lemon zest, if using, and then fold in the fruit. Gently, Ottolenghi says.

Whatever.

20130922-171358.jpg

Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and fold together VERY GENTLY VERY GENTLY making sure you stir enough to combine BUT NO MORE DON’T OVERMIX GODSAKE.

Ottolenghi says it should be lumpy and rough. I have often been lumpy and rough.

20130922-171412.jpg

Spoon the mixture into your muffin cases – it’ll fill them up a lot. It’s meant to.

Generously cover with the crumble topping, adding a few extra blueberries. I wasn’t able to let go completely with the blueberry sprinkling, you’ll note.  Bit of an OCD fail, that.

Into the oven for 30-35 minutes.

20130922-171433.jpg

I’ve been fairly vocal about being pleased NewHuman arrived in the spring and summer months here but I even I, a hard-hearted and non-maternal type, will admit to being somewhat pleased by the level of cute achieved in wrapping him in various layers of fleece now that the cooler weather is en route.

Right – check your muffins – if a skewer comes out clean they’re done. Take them out of the tin and let cool.

Eat. They’re massive. MASSIVE. They will also make you massive.

20130922-171443.jpg

4 thoughts on “Ottolenghi’s Blueberry Crumble Muffins

  1. narf77 says:

    I have noticed that you have this teeny little Ottolenghi infatuation affliction. I have decided to take advantage of it and am assembling a word doc of all of the Ottolenghi recipes that you share with us so that I don’t have to spend my ready cash on buying his books. Feel free to start at “A”. I bet you had a MARVELLOUS trip to Perth and you aren’t secretly dreading the return visit in the least. At least Perth appears to be somewhat warmer than Tassie is at the moment and a whole lot drier to boot. The new human is going to enjoy drying out a bit and spending time with his extended Aussie family and you will get to wave him around and garner support from the Antipodean leg of the clan. Have a ball and hopefully you remembered NOT to fly Air France on the return leg…

  2. Hollie says:

    these look amazing……very amusing post. where the hell do you get those muffin paper things from??

Leave a Reply

