Frozen Fruit Crumble Slice Thingy

This is from a little book called ‘Cakes and Bakes’. If you google that you’ll get a million results, none of which are the book. Good luck.

I’ve also adapted it somewhat, as the book has this with fresh apple and frozen blackberry. I’ve gone all revolutionary with total frozen fruits and no apple and peach instead and all kinds of berries. Probably illegal.

Autumn has arrived in the UK and I Must Not Complain Because We Had a Good Summer. That’s the British approach. Mine is rather more ‘why should we be grateful for summer being summery?’ alongside a heartfelt gratefulness that we did, in fact, get some serious sunshine.

Myself and NewHuman are off to Aus in a couple of weeks, where I shall farm him around to various rellos and sit back, relaxing with a tea or a booze whilst he can cop a go at being the traditional unrelenting focus of attention. I am quite looking forward to the rest. The boyfriend will, no doubt, spend three weeks mourning our absence by undertaking a serious regime of sleeping in, eating pizza and playing Skyrim whilst wearing only his pants. Have I said that already in another post? It sounds familiar. Either way, it’s true.

Right. Crumble Slice thingy. Is nice.

20130912-124219.jpg

Preheat your oven to 180C or so. Get a slice pan, something along the lines of 18cm x 28cm or similar. Grease and line.

Gather:-

200g SR flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

175g butter

150g caster sugar (I think original recipe has more, but this is all I used and it is fine. FINE).

3 eggs (recipe says beaten. I didn’t bother as was using the Kitchen Aid wotsit. Maybe beat your eggs first if you’re doing this all by hand like a proper cook)

Frozen fruit of your choosing. I had peaches and a berry mix.

For the crumble

75g butter

75g muesli (I used the crumbs from the bottom of the muesli container. Oats would do)

75g SR Flour

50g caster sugar

20130912-124223.jpg

In a bowl put the crumble makings, and make crumble. Basically smash it all up between your fingertips till it resembles muesli-ish breadcrumbs.

Put to one side.

In your mixer, or by hand if you’re supercook, beat the sugar and butter till light and creamy. Add the eggs one by one, alternating with bits of the flour, till all combined. Add the baking powder. There’ll be a light dusting of flour all over your kitchen if you do this with a Kitchen Aid. That’s lovely, seeing as the cleaner won’t be in again for a week … there’s no way I’ll be sweeping anything up before her next visit.

Batter status: done.

20130912-124228.jpg

Blob the batter into the lined tin and spread out evenly.

20130912-124234.jpg

Layer your fruit on top.

I will, next time (FOR THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME) use about twice as much fruit. I was worried that, being frozen, the fruit would make the cake all soggy. I was wrong. Really wrong. So, more fruit.

20130912-124237.jpg

Sprinkle over all the crumble and shove into the oven for something along the lines of 45 mins or until a skewer comes out dry. I turned mine off at 45mins and left it in the oven for a further 5 before taking out.

20130912-124245.jpg

Above you’ll see the dog with her dogwalking posse. She looks, as I’ve already said on social media, about 100 times happier there than she ever does with us. Despite this, and despite her costing us yet another £70 after managing to get a stone stuck in a pad, I still love her. A lot. She’s such a pain in the ass.

Take the slice out of the oven when done and let cool, at least most of the way, in the tin.

Remove, slice (I did mine into 12 pieces) and eat with some kind of warm autumnal beverage.

All I notice on the below photo is the rank, disgusting lack of good quality work where the tiles meet the countertop. One day that whole kitchen will die and I will be happy. Possibly even happier than when ShitOven went away. Possibly.

20130912-151125.jpg

6 thoughts on “Frozen Fruit Crumble Slice Thingy

  1. Mark says:

    Is this…new? Is there any left?

  2. narf77 says:

    Earl is very jealous of that Am staff to the dogs left (your right…). Not only is it close to the dog, but it is also sitting nicely! Earl now expects me to find him his own posse…thanks a LOT! Cake looks delish…have fun in Aus, at least SOME of it is feeling summery right now. Don’t bother to come to Tas as we are huddled under blankets shivering (unless you bring the dog…Earl says you can stay with us IF you bring the dog 😉 )

  3. Jess says:

    Hello! I have made so many of your recipes from posts! I even somehow convinced my husband to have this prepared for me when I arrived home from work one day so I thought it appropriate to leave evidence of my lurking of your blog here 😉 Thanks for helping me prepare dinner!

    • b-kom says:

      Amazing! And thank you! And sorry it’s been a bit shit lately. I hope to resume half-normal service soon…

Leave a Reply

