Jamie Oliver’s Chocolate Biscuits with Chocolate Inside

Welcome to your traditional last-minute Sunday-night blog post, released into the interweb ether at a time that is not conducive to baking and, thus, will sink alongside the others to live a lonely and pointless life at the bottom of the cyberspace ocean.

I googled ‘chocolate biscuits’ and found, first up, a recipe for Jamie Oliver’s version that he reckons is fun to make with kids.

These weren’t even fun to make with myself. Boyfriend has described them as ‘a bit dry’ but I think that’s my fault, to be fair, not having had the courage to put in all the chocolate bits I probably should’ve. Ah well. Eat them with coffee.

Here we go. Hold on tight.

20130908-185232.jpg

Preheat your oven to 190C/Gas Mark 5/375F.

Gather:-

140g butter

140g caster sugar

2 free-range egg yolks

255g self raising flour

30g cocoa powder (I didn’t have enough so topped up with the boyfriend’s drinking chocolate)

Good quality choc – I used grown-up 85% – bitter – maybe try milk or white or plain.

Cream the butter and sugar until pale. I didn’t  wait probably long enough. DOESN’T MATTER.  Add the egg yolks (if you’re using a mixer, after this stage swap the whisk for the other one. Not the dough hook, the other one.  No idea what it’s called).  After you’ve changed the mixer thingy add the cocoa and flour.  Mix.

20130908-185239.jpg

It’s a dry dough. Tip it out onto a surface…actually I should tell you JO says to fridge it a bit first.  I couldn’t be bothered.

Tip it out onto a floured surface and knead a bit till it comes together. It’ll never come together entirely, lacking the commitment of the truly religious.

20130908-185243.jpg

You should be able to get it something along the lines of the above.

Roll about 1/3 out quite thinly and use a 4cm cookie cutter to cut out a heap of circles.  Chuck on a baking sheet, greased and/or lined.  I went with lined.

20130908-185248.jpg

Not very regular. I’m not an engineer.

20130908-185255.jpg

On the little circles place a square or so of chocolate. Be more generous than I was.

Roll out the rest of the dough and use a 5cm cutter to cut circles, placing them on top of the small chocolatey ones.  I wet a fingertip and ran it round the bottom of the big circles before laying over the small in a likely vain attempt to make things stick.

JO says, and I quote, ‘don’t worry, they are meant to look a bit cracked and rustic’. That’s basically a description of me first thing in the morning. I was unconvinced it was a proper state for a biscuit.

Anyway see above. Dodgy.

Keep going till all the dough is used.  JO says the recipe makes 30. I got 26 and about a palm-full of dough I couldn’t be arsed with and chucked out.

Into the oven for ten minutes.

20130908-185309.jpg

NewHuman was rightly suspicious of the appearance of these and preferred to guzzle man-made milk subsitute instead.  Wisdom in one so young.

See below for the finished product. Better looking than you’d expect, considering.  I think they’re quite spare, actually, and rather mature-tasting with the bitter choc inside.  I’m very sophisticated.

20130908-185314.jpg

7 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Chocolate Biscuits with Chocolate Inside

  1. narf77 says:

    I bow to your sophistication. I am past sophistication…I would have crammed all 3 kinds of chocolate (and perhaps some more if I could find them) into those babies and then…just for good measure…I would have dipped them in chocolate to cover AND drizzled the other 2 kinds over the top. If you are going to have a chockie bickie, you may as well have to go to mass and pay penance for it…”in for a penny, in for a pound” my gran would say and if any of these babies went “in” me…I would put on a “pound” nuff said! Looks like the boys are ganging up on you…time to make yourself a girl to balance it all out…Yeah…I instinctively ducked there 😉

  2. Ness says:

    Ohhh look at new little human, he’s growing so fast. X

  3. I very much like your “things I didn’t bother with and nothing bad happened” list 🙂

Leave a Reply

