Jam Drops

Jam Drops are stuff of my childhood, a recurring theme for the baked goods appearing on this blog, really.  My gran, as would be expected, makes the best ones, but the other day I craved them, after probably ten years not having even a whiff of one, and made Donna Hay’s version.  They were ok.  I will have to get Nana’s recipe off her when I go home in September.

Go home with a 4 month old on a long-haul flight, the boyfriend being left in London to sit in his pants, eating pizza and playing Skyrim no doubt.  Can’t wait for that long haul, where I’ll not be able to rely on my friend Temazepam (not sure it’d be looked kindly upon to be unconscious, drooling and drugged whilst having care of an infant, which seems unfair. On me.).

Right. Jam Drops. Preheat your oven to 350F or 175C.

Gather:-

6 oz/170g butter, softened
1 cup caster sugar
1 egg
2 cups plain flour – Donna Hay says sifted, I say don’t be ridiculous.
1/2 tsp baking powder
Jam  to decorate – raspberry is best.

I say that, but:-

20130823-094504.jpg

I believe the proper name for the above stuff is Speculoos which puts me in mind of an unusual shop selling eye glasses and gynaecological equipment but what do I know. Anyway it’s now freely available at Sainsbury’s and I know a few people who rave about it. Figured I’d give it a try and maybe replace the jam with some of it on the bikkies.

It’s weird. The caramelised biscuits, as biscuits, are delicious. The spread is weird. It tastes EXACTLY like the biscuits but it has a peanut butter texture. It made my tiny mind hurt. I needed some time and several tastings to figure it out.

20130823-094514.jpg

Throw the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer (or a bowl and use handbeaters) and beat until light and creamy

Add the egg and beat well.  Beat it like Michael Jackson without the crotch grabs.

20130823-094518.jpg

As you can see, whilst I waited for the egg and sugar mix to get creamy I continued to taste-test the new stuff.  Still weird.

20130823-094523.jpg

Then with a spoon stir through the flour and baking powder and mix to a dough.  I used  a spatula for that bit.

Donna Hay says to roll 2 tsp of the mixture into balls.  I’m pretty sure I did that and only made about 22 biscuits, her recipe says it makes 60. Fair old difference, there.  Maybe 1 tspn of mix would be better as mine definitely turned out bigger than my Nan’s.

Place on a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper, allowing room for the biscuits to spread, and flatten slightly – I actually rolled them and then flattened them between my palms before sticking on the tray.

20130823-094528.jpg

You need to make holes for the jam, man.  Nana’s trick is to use the end of a wooden spoon. Is good trick. She is a good and clever Nana.

20130823-094536.jpg

Fill the depressions (sad, sad holes they are) with jam or your filling of choice. I’d definitely recommend jam.

Into the oven for about ten mins or so, till they start to go golden.

20130823-094540.jpg

You can tell that both the dog and NewHuman are really enjoying this. The boyfriend and I enjoyed it more.

Right, take the biscuits out of the oven and cool on racks. Do NOT try to eat them hot. Not unless a mouth full of blisters is a fun thing for you.  Hot jam is hot.

These are too big.  Despite their giantness they are excellent with coffee.

Enjoy. And enjoy this remarkably swear-free post. No idea what’s gotten into me.

20130823-094546.jpg

One thought on “Jam Drops

  1. narf77 says:

    Biscoff still hasn’t found it’s way onto our Tassie supermarket shelves yet but if it is like any other world trend, we have to wait about 5 years for it anyway. I am not a fan of jam drop bickies. Mum never made them although she must have made just about every single other biscuit EVER invented so not sure why she didn’t bother with these…probably the same reason as mine…”meh”. Glad they went well with tea/coffee (that ubiquitious drink that is as interesting as biscoff). I think I would just take that jar and a spoon and taste test the life out of it instead of bothering to bake. Sounds like a plan! Now I just need that jar of Biscoff…sigh. Looks like you are going to be hauled off in front of the judge for both animal cruelty AND cruelty to an infant. I wonder which case will go first or if they will just try you on both at the same time to save time and money? Either way you had best hope the dog doesn’t get to testify…those hate eyes are still burning into my soul…

Leave a Reply

