Nigella’s Banana & Butterscotch Muffins

So, I’ve a new toy.  It’s in pistachio green and cost a ridiculous amount of money, so me and the boyfriend’s probationary status as wankers has now come to fruition and we are, indeed, Wankers with a capital W. Either way, it’s a pretty thing and I’ve had it at home a week, nearly, and not yet tried it.

See below.

20130804-171122.jpg

I believe most people get them in a nice bright red or shiny black. That’s probably for a very good reason. Nevertheless, pistachio green it is.  Tones in nicely with our bathroom, arguably, which is a shame as they will never be introduced.

I’ve a terrible habit of buying bananas and then not eating them in time. I can only eat bananas when they’ve just, very just, tipped over the edge into ripeness.  Any hint of odour and I can’t bear them, except in cooking. It’s the reason the boyfriend’s office is plagued with banana breads issued from my kitchen. I’ve had some black-toned bananas sitting about for days now and couldn’t face making my millionth banana bread (it’s such a milestone, a million, and I’ve not the energy for a party) so looked about for an alternative.

The below would do. The banana makes them nice and moist, really, almost like they’re undercooked.  They’re not, of course.  And poor Nigella, going through her tough times, I think she’d be happy to know her recipe was the final resting place for a few bananas otherwise bound for the bin.

I’m typing this as the boyfriend walks NewHuman and the dog around the neighbourhood, and I am accompanied by the soundtrack of our new neighbours’ child. A Massive Whinger, would be the official description. They are a noisy bunch. I’m afraid I’ve rather taken against them.  They shall not receive a single crumb of muffin.  It’d been quiet the last couple of days so I’d hoped they were away on holidays.  I was wrong.

I’m also typing this half-pissed, AGAIN, after another pub lunch with friends.

Being half-pissed is heaps good.

20130804-171118.jpg

Preheat your oven to 200C or Gas Mark 6.

Gather:-

3 very ripe bananas

125ml vegetable oil. I used canola, which isn’t strictly vegetable, but it was fine. Tasteless, basically, is what you’re after.

2 large eggs

250g plain flour

100g caster sugar

1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

150g butterscotch chips (which I have been desperate to get rid of) but anything else would do – white chocolate or dark, even blueberries would be nice

I’ll just alert you now to the fact I doubled the amounts so be not alarmed at the vast quantities displayed in the following photos.

20130804-171127.jpg

Mash your bananas.  They’ll look like sick.

20130804-171136.jpg

Put your oil and eggs in a thing and lightly whisk.  The eggs will float, menacingly, in the oil like sentient orbs.

Whisk together your flour, bicarb, baking powder and sugar, then add the oily eggy mix.  Blend.

20130804-171141.jpg

Then add your chips and banana.

20130804-171151.jpg

Mix nicely.  It’s a rather wet mix for muffins, but NIgella knows best.

20130804-171158.jpg

Distribute in muffin cases, even quantities, and into the oven for about 20 mins or until done.  I over-filled, a bit.

20130804-171209.jpg

This is the dog, stoned, after a heinous operation to remove her dew claws, cause of much ripping and pain. Anyway, the Cone of Shame is part of her life for another week yet. She is displeased.

20130804-171204.jpg

In other news, Fat Elvis lives.

Anyway, remove said muffins from the oven and let cool a little.

Eat. Enjoy.  They’re not OTT banana-y, it kind of more makes the mix very moist and delivers a hint of banana-ness.  Sweet, obv.

20130804-172352.jpg

2 thoughts on “Nigella’s Banana & Butterscotch Muffins

  1. narf77 says:

    I have a pistachio green hunk of cast iron as well. Mine would have cost considerably less than yours but I still need it when my arms are weary from beating…You are only wankers because we are all envious to the back teeth of you ;). We are all enjoying your half pissed posts, they have a tinge of mania and slightly crazed desperation about them that lends you an entirly human new mum edge. Sympathy about the new neighbours by the way, perhaps it’s time for an ASBO? I like the way that you folded the butterscotch packet so that it now reads “scotch chips”…an entirely new proposition and something that the masses need sooner rather than later methinks. The dog just burned out my retina’s with those evil eyes…might be time to give her a few of those muffins…one day that collar is coming off and she looks like a dog with a LONG memory… i’ll be damned if Fat Elvis isn’t cute! You spawned a cutie there. I am sure that Nigella will be commenting on this post. What with being at a loose end after getting unhitched from her own form of “beater”. It might do her good to read a few comments about her recipes…you know…back to the masses and the coalface sort of thing, reconnecting with “the reason”. Fat Elvis is going to be glad that his mum can cook, no problems with having to swap lunches in the future at school 🙂

Leave a Reply

