Three-Berry Vanilla Cake

I’m lying.  Again.  This is not 3-berry cake.  It’s raspberry, blueberry and redcurrant cake. Unless redcurrants are berries, in which case I am not lying at all. Which  means I am a lie in credit.  I’ll keep it and use it on something more useful.

I’m tying this REALLY REALLY FAST whilst NewHuman naps, and boyfriend is out at the park doing whatever he does out there with the dog. Probably the dog has him running after balls.  Actually I know that’s the case, as they have this ‘fun’ game where the dog will pretend to want to run after the ball, boyfriend will throw it, dog won’t run, boyfriend swears at dog, and then dog watches boyfriend run to collect ball.  It’s win-win for me and the dog when this happens, but pretty much lose all the way for poor boyfriend.

Last night was not all lose, though.  Boyfriend’s mother had a birthday and we went over for supper.  Easy, casual supper, I believed.  One involving posh things such as caviar. Delicious excess.  Anyway I volunteered to make a cake, forgetting I’d be half-cut from a pub lunch with friends earlier in the day.

I was a bit pissed when I made this and it still turned out yum.  So very yum that I’ve in fact made it again today, sober, replacing redcurrants with blackberries, and a cake tin for muffin cases.  I shall eat them all.

Right. Let’s get on with it, shall we?

20130728-161503.jpg

Pre-heat your oven to 180C.  (I’m impressed that I keep remembering to tell you this kind of stuff now. I’m well professional blogger. Can’t believe I’ve not been approached to become some publishing giant).

Gather:-

200g self raising flour

200g softened butter (so much butter)

200g caster sugar

2 good teaspoons vanilla paste or quality extract

3 eggs

Fruit – I used about half a punnet of each kind, cause I like things fruity. If you’re more ascetic, then bout 50-60g of each kind will do, I guess.

20130728-161509.jpg

Cause I was half pissed I of course didn’t manage to remember to soften the butter first, so had to grate it.

Either way, cream the butter and sugar for a few mins, then add the vanilla and beat some more.

20130728-161513.jpg

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well in between each addition.

As usual, it’ll look like sick.

Fold in the flour, a bit gently.  You can sift it if you want to. I never do and my cakes seem to always work out fine.

20130728-161519.jpg

Pro tip!

If you dust your fruit in a little flour, any time you’re using fruit in anything baked, prior to folding through the batter, it won’t all sink to the bottom in the cooking.

So, dust your fruit.

20130728-161526.jpg

Fold it gently into the batter.

The raspberries will commit suicide and bleed all over the place, as they are wont to do. Don’t give them any mind.

20130728-161530.jpg

Batter goes into a lined 22cm cake tin, with a smoothed over top.  Into the oven for 50-60 mins or so, till a bit browned on top and done.

20130728-161554.jpg

Since NewHuman’s arrival the dog has been turning increasingly to attention-seeking behaviours.

20130728-161559.jpg

Here is the done cake, bloody boiling hot and turned out onto a cake tin lid for transporting, in the car, to boyfriend’s parents’ home. Burnt the hell out of my knees.  HURT.

Ideally you’ll have dusted the top with icing sugar but the cake was too warm for such frippery.

Serve with cream and/or ice cream.  I didn’t get a pic of that, but below is some leftover cake I had this morning for breakfast.

Recommend.

20130728-161605.jpg

6 thoughts on “Three-Berry Vanilla Cake

  1. narf77 says:

    Not hard to remember with all of those “200g” of ingredients. I wonder how it would turn out with 200g of each ingredient? Probably ok aside from the salt ;). I wonder how this would go with half almond meal and half flour? Dense but moist, might give it a go. All in all a perfectly acceptable reason for raspberries to comit suicide anywhere other than my gaping maw.

  2. narf77 says:

    By the way…give the dog a pat for me please and tell her that she has almost trained the boyfriend…but not quite. If she REALLY wants to be the boss, she has to bark at the back door until he opens it and then run outside…then, within 2 minutes (timed precisely) she needs to be on the other side of the door barking to be let back in. Tell her not to give up barking even if the humans appear to be ignoring her. Humans are stupid and prone to worrying about the neighbours (especially in urban situations) so they are going to give in sooner rather than later. Bezial says thank him later.

Leave a Reply

