Lazy Bones Lamb Shanks

It’s technically Summer. I know I moan about the weather a LOT but seriously, it’s got its shit so utterly out of gear that I despair of ever really being warm again. Or, at least, warm for more than a day or so in a row. Currently spitting with rain, blowing a gale, requiring actual proper jackets if you venture outside. As I write this Mum is at the park walking the dog. I fully expect them to return telling tales of being tornado’d to another, mystical land.

Boyfriend has returned to work after 2 weeks of paternity leave, looking suitably unrefreshed and, I hope, garnering enough sympathy from colleagues to make up for the lost sleep NewHuman is presently responsible for.

I’m at home, habitually checking gmail for work emails that no longer arrive. It’s weird.

Right, so cause the weather is foul I have made a stew. I vaguely recall having seen the recipe ages ago on something called Daddy Cooks or similar. Terrible name. Anyway this is my version. Easy, contains booze, is cheap and unctuous. Take that, Summer, you bitch.

20130613-171155.jpg

I got:

4 smallish foreleg shanks. Get whatever ones you want. Foreshanks were all that I had available to me.
1 brown onion
2 or so carrots. More if you like carrots
2-3 sticks of celery
3-4 cloves garlic
2-3 bottles of that little single serve wine you can get. I think really 3 is too much. I used 3. Mum doesn’t drink. I’ll let you know how that turned out.
Salt and pepper
Sage, rosemary, thyme – handful of each
Pancetta cubes, a tub of pre-chopped, or chop your own. I don’t mind which.
Tablespoon or so of plain flour

Pre-heat your oven to 170C or equivalent.

Chop as seen above, whilst you brown the shanks in a casserole dish. Oven-proof dish, please.

20130613-171500.jpg

On the stove-top, brown in a good glug of olive oil and a knob of butter. When browned, set aside for a sec.

20130613-171542.jpg

Throw in the pancetta for a minute or so, then add all the vegetables and the garlic. Stir and soften for maybe 3-5 mins or so.

Add the flour and stir around. It’ll go a bit gloopy. Add the wine and herbs, stir and then put the shanks on top of all the saucy veg stuff. I added a bit more water here as I think I’ve made enough gravy for twice as many shanks.

20130613-171926.jpg

Then put the lid on and shove in the oven after it’s come to a simmer. In my case the baby woke up. Made it difficult to pick up the buggery-heavy dish.

20130613-172027.jpg

See?

Put the baby down somewhere safe and appropriate. Definitely not the kitchen bench. No way.

Then stick the dish in the oven. It’ll take about 3hrs. Check it a couple of times, adding water if you need to.

Serve with mash. Also with cabbage is nice. We have some in the fridge that needs eating but I can’t be bothered prepping it.

20130613-202321.jpg

7 thoughts on “Lazy Bones Lamb Shanks

  1. Richard Evans says:

    Oh that looks good! I might try that on my other half

  2. narf77 says:

    As a vegan I have to say I would pass on the shanky goodness but the baby is too cute for fruit :). Looks like you survived your ordeal and came out the other side mostly intact (that glassy manic look in your eyes might tell another tale πŸ˜‰ ). Kudos on managing to actually cook. I lived opposite a pizzaria when I had my first baby (in Perth) (the son-and-heir) and without it, we wouldn’t have survived πŸ˜‰

    • b-kom says:

      An that is just my popeyed look I keep specially for photos….NewHuman pretty good really, all things considered…..

      Cooking essential! For both biological maintenance and doing-non-baby-stuff-to-keep-sane reasons.

      • narf77 says:

        Baking makes it better! So does valium but you aren’t allowed to take valium if you are breastfeeding…best stick with the baking πŸ˜‰

  3. Rebecca says:

    Cooker this last night for Father’s Day, omg best recipe ever! Thank you! X

Leave a Reply

