Guest Post – Cheese & Bacon Breakfast (or anytime, really) Muffins

I am writing this in your past. Days ago, actually. Days when I was unencumbered by a wailing human of seaslug proportions, cognition and capabilities (at the time of writing I am making assumptions about NewHuman which may turn out to be totally unfounded.  Doubt it).  Anyway C has ably stepped in and is offering up a guest post, comprised of savoury muffins.

Revolutionary.  I always forget muffins can be savoury.

Either way, do enjoy. I have been FREAKING AMAZING and have written two further posts which shall also appear in the future, albeit composed in the past – very confusing, this time-travelling bloggage – so keep your joy to a minimum. You’re not entirely rid of me yet.

Thanks C – read on!

Hello! I am a voluntary guest blogger filling the textual gap that will inevitably be happening during delivery of NewHuman, pleased to meet you! I should begin by declaring outright that my intuitive baking skills extend barely further than the most basic of small cakes – in fact I once managed to manufacture a supposedly simple yoghurt dip so beyond edible that I could’ve been accused of deliberate sabotage – but I have the ability to follow written instructions and I can spell most words correctly, so I was happy to take up the honoured gauntlet thrown down via twitter by B.

This particular recipe is adapted slightly from one I saw on www.goodtoknow.co.uk.

Let’s get started.

20130527-171936.jpg

For this cheesy, bacony deliciousness, you will need to gather together some kitchen essentials in the following amounts:

Bacon, thick cut, 4 slices – I am using smoked, it’s a personal preference
250g plain flour
15g baking powder
50g strong cheddar
75g chilled butter
1 large egg
175ml milk – I am using semi-skimmed
A little black pepper for seasoning
12-hole cake tray and muffin cases
A little extra grated cheese to top

20130527-171945.jpg

Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C. I always forget to do this and end up waiting for what feels like ages for it to warm up enough to cook things in, so I’m telling you this now to save you from being tempted to eat raw flour through boredom.

Next, cook the bacon. I would usually grill it but today I am using a frying pan because the lady I am dog and house-sitting for has  recently got a new kitchen and doesn’t know how to switch her grill on yet, so she couldn’t show me how to do it before she went on holiday. I could probably work it out, but I wouldn’t want to risk accidentally breaking her new oven.

20130527-172003.jpg

After the bacon is cool enough to handle, cut the fat off if you didn’t do that before cooking (again, personal preference) and chop the meat into reasonably small bits. Dispose of the fat as you wish – I had a couple of willing recipients.

20130527-171950.jpg

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl. Add the chopped bacon, cheese, and the black pepper. Use a cheese grater to grate the chilled butter into the bowl and stir with a fork.

20130527-171954.jpg

Beat the egg with the milk and stir into the dry mixture until it is just blended. Don’t overdo it, if it’s a bit lumpy that’s fine.

20130527-171959.jpg

Line your cake tray with the muffin cases and spoon the mixture as evenly as you can into each case. Top with the extra bit of grated cheese.

Bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes until golden, risen and firm to the touch. Serve the muffins warm, or cool them on a wire rack. They will be best eaten fresh, but would last a few days in an appropriate airtight container – I don’t think they’d be around long enough to store them in my house though. Bacon makes everything better.

20130527-172017.jpg

One thought on “Guest Post – Cheese & Bacon Breakfast (or anytime, really) Muffins

  1. narf77 says:

    Yummo! Delish and simple and dog friendly :). I still can’t get my head around “B” being “up the duff” let alone imminent. I am still in shock so won’t be posting my usual enormous comment. Lovely recipe, my dogs thank you from the bottom of their heart/stomachs (same place really) and so does my husband (who has the same heart/stomach relationship thing going on). Wish “B” all the best for me on twitter and hopefully she can deliver that screaming postulating bright red angry bundle of joy right side up…

Leave a Reply

