Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Blueberry Clafoutis

As I write this, everyone is getting into gear here on the European side of Earth for Eurovision. I don’t get Eurovision. Maybe you have to be European to get it. I do, supportively, watch it most years with the boyfriend. I’m excellent that way.

Today I made Clafoutis. I’ve never made clafoutis before, I had no idea what to expect in terms of taste or texture. I got the recipe via the Guardian.co.uk website – just google Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall blueberry clafoutis and you’ll find it easy enough.

It’s interesting stuff, clafoutis, assuming I’ve made it properly. I’ve read online that clafoutis should have a texture between custard and pancake – that’s definitely what I achieved, but I thought it was a bit odd in the eating. At least at first.

I’d make again but with the addition of ground almonds to the custardy batter, maybe cooking for very slightly longer. Pretty confident that’d be yum.

Far be it from me to dictate what clafoutis should be like, eh.

20130518-194344.jpg

Gather:-

Butter, for greasing
75g plain flour
Pinch of salt
75g caster sugar
2 medium eggs, plus 1 medium egg white
300ml whole milk
400g blueberries
A little icing sugar, to finish
Double cream, to serve

I decided to make this cause it calls for whole milk. We don’t really drink whole milk in this house, I’m all about the skimmed milk, I like it as close to water as I can get it with it still being milk. Boyfriend goes for the semi-skimmed. Reason for the whole milk being in the house is my Mum is arriving from Oz imminently, visiting with us for a while. Mum drinks whole milk. I hope she’s brought her winter clothes, for summer here is pretty much replicating a greyer winter than she might expect from back home in Perth.

Oops.

Anyway, yay! Mum! Whole milk!

Put your oven on to preheat at 190C/Gas Mark 5.

20130518-194428.jpg

Sift (or whisk) the flour, salt and sugar all together.

Chuck the 2 eggs and 1 egg white in a bowl and whisk.

Get the milk measured out.

20130518-194436.jpg

Pour the whisked eggs into a well you’ll have no doubt made in the dry ingredients, and using your whisk just beat it carefully together, slowly incorporating the flour from the sides into the mix. It’ll end up looking like the above.

Then add the milk, in parts, till all combined. Basically, to me, it looked like runny pancake mix.

Liberally butter a baking dish – something bit over 20cm square or rectangular, or 25cm round. I had oval. Rebellious.

20130518-194441.jpg

Tip your washed blueberries into the buttered dish and pour over the batter. Drown them, drown them ALL.

20130518-194446.jpg

Then into the oven, taking the time to admire the lack of true scrubbing achieved last time you washed up the dish.

Also note NewOven’s shelves could do with a wash. Admit, immediately, that they’re unlikely to get one for some time. Or ever.

Wait 30 minutes for the clafoutis to cook.

20130518-194545.jpg

Study of Dog Under Blanket #2

20130518-194552.jpg

When done it’ll look a bit puffed up and smell pretty good.

Hugh F-W reckons this is best eaten just warm, or at room temperature. I left it to cool on the stovetop whilst I had a nice afternoon nap and the boyfriend wallowed in his traditional Saturday bath.

We ate it with strawberries and double cream. I was a bit disconcerted when I saw the texture of the custardy bit – it is slightly like an undercooked, thick pancake but all together with the berries, icing sugar and cream it came up nice and I’m now happy to eat the rest of it.

Happy Eurovision, yes?

20130518-194557.jpg

3 thoughts on “Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Blueberry Clafoutis

  1. narf77 says:

    ABBA came from Eurovision…ABBA and that episode of Father Ted where Ted and Dougal sing “My Lovely Horse”…I prefer the Father Ted episode to be honest ;). Not sure I would actually make a clafouti for Steve after this but hopefully your mum remembers her winter woolies…not sure the dog would want to share that blanket…she looks like she has had enough! 😉

  2. […] you ever made, or even eaten, a clafoutis? I might try […]

Leave a Reply

