Ribs with Smoky Barbecue Sauce

Last weekend we bought groceries from Waitrose because we’re idiots with even less sense than we do money.  Anyway I had a grand ribs idea, so ribs it was.  I wasn’t to know that just 2 days later the boyfriend’s father would be feeding us Bank-Holiday-Monday lunch of ribs he’d made in his fancy smoker (our Xmas present to him a couple of years ago, now come to bite us) and with the boyfriend’s mum’s long-held family recipe for amazing sauce.

Unwittingly, unknowingly, and with a virgin hand, having never cooked ribs before, I rustled up the below with a bit of help from a recipe on the taste.com.au website.  I’ve visited there a bit lately.  I think using the internet to find recipes is the easy option, I hardly ever walk up to the below shelf in the sitting room…

20130510-093017.jpg

…and pull out a recipe book.  I bloody should.

To be fair, however, I’m pretty sure the ancient CWA cookbook wouldn’t have anything as exotic as ribs in it, although if I ever need to make a sultana scone I’m very well catered for.

Moving right along…

20130510-093022.jpg

Gather, for about 1.5kg of ribs (I admit to lessening my ingredients a bit because only had 1kg or so of ribs. Pig ribs.  Pig ribs are best in this instance):-

3/4 cup barbecue sauce

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 long red chilli, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed

2 teaspoons smoked paprika

ribs

I also went off-recipe and added some chipotle sauce because, you know, it’s good.

20130510-093027.jpg

Slop everything into a big, wideish ceramic bowl and mix.  I’ve learnt that it’s better to crush the sugar lumps out before mixing.  I recommend you do.

20130510-093032.jpg

Mix in all the ribs, making sure they’re well covered with sauce.  The whole thing will smell peculiar – both good and rank all at once.  Like sharp, vinegary and smokey bbq, but also death.

Cover with some clingfilm and leave to marinate for at least 6 hours, or overnight if you have been incredibly well organised.

I left these for about 4 hours. It’d been a busy day.

20130510-093037.jpg

Pre-heat your oven to about 160C or 140C if you’ve gone fan forced

Line a nice big baking tray with foil.  Absolutely, categorically do this unless spending a few days scrubbing said baking tray, pointlessly, sounds like fun to you.

On top lay a rack, maybe the one from your oven grill?  Worked for me.  Lay your ribs on top and cover with foil.

Stick them in the oven for 90-mins, flipping and basting with the leftover sauce every time you pay them a visit.  So, if your maths is bad, you’ll do two visits, then a third.  Keep them under the foil whilst they’re in the oven.

20130510-093042.jpg

By the third visit they should start to look something like the above.

Take the foil off, raise the temperature to 200C/180C fan-forced, brush with more marinade and cook for another 30 mins.

Whilst this is happening you’re supposed to pour the rest of the leftover marinade into a little saucepan and bring to the boil, then simmer for 5 minutes till it thickens a bit.  I couldn’t be arsed, and I didn’t really have enough left.  I probably should’ve bothered.  So, make sure you bother.

20130510-093105.jpg

Voila.  Charred rib of pig.

Bloody delicious, actually.

We ate with a previously-blogged coleslaw that the boyfriend threw together (found here – https://averagebaker.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/coleslaw-and-potato-salad-you-lucky-things-you/ ) .  Exceptionally good with these.

You’ll need a few napkins as it’s not polite eating, and you’ll need to not mention to the boyfriend’s father when presented with his version of pig-ribs that you’d already had enough that week, thanks very much.

20130510-093111.jpg

4 thoughts on “Ribs with Smoky Barbecue Sauce

  1. Mark says:

    “Coleslaw that the boyfriend threw together”

    Cooking may be “throwing things together” for you but for me it’s like plate-spinning, public speaking and hard sums all in one. Still, turned out well at least!

  2. narf77 says:

    Taste.com…my go to recipe site ;). I must admit, Steve found it and we both love it and it’s our go-to place to find a good Aussie take on a recipe. I have a HUGE shelf full of recipe books…some I imported at great expense but I never look at them :(. At least, should I ever run out of fire starters….(did I just say that?!!!! MY BABIES!…) The ribs look lip smacking good and you shouldn’t tell fibs about the F.I.L ribs, you loved them too…in fact, I don’t know anyone who isn’t vegan who wouldn’t eat these 3 nights a week if they had the chance 😉

Leave a Reply

