The Hummingbird Bakery’s White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies

Cookies. I think I call them cookies now but when I was growing up it was all about the bikkie. Bikkie is better. Let’s call these bikkies, although they’re probably too enormous to call anything but cookies.

Such are the things that currently occupy my tiny mind, tiny because it is otherwise consumed with a quite nasty cold, for which I am taking precisely no medicine, and which results in me coughing up various parts of lung quite regularly. It’s a real joy. Please be reassured I undertook OCD levels of hand washing whilst making these bikkies.

Italy was so long ago. We’ve since had snow flurries in London, but today is remarkably Spring-like, so much so that I’ve (finally) reverted to type and flung open the back door at the first sign of sunshine. It’s not exactly toasty weather out there but I’m ill, cranky, and full of swearing so open back doors it is. Whatever makes me happy is go.

I’m making these bikkies cause I have the ingredients, the choc-orange almond cake I was going to make would’ve taken longer and I can’t be arsed today, and cause the boyfriend is off on a long cycle tomorrow and I figured some nice bikkies would fit in his backpack and do him well. I AM AN AMAZING GIRLFRIEND.

*snot*
*cough*
*hack*

I’m looking pretty bloody gorgeous right now.

Right.

20130406-150728.jpg

Get:

135g unsalted butter (fuck that, I used salted)
80g caster sugar
80g soft light brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence (I used a whole teaspoon)
190g flour
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
60g white choc chips (I used a whole 100g pack)
100g dried cranberries

20130406-151005.jpg

Preheat your oven to 170C, bout gas mark 3.

Cream together the butter and sugar. Or, as I did, try to cream them. Give up after about 30 secs and just whazz butter, sugar, vanilla and egg together till combined and slightly sick looking.

See above.

20130406-151140.jpg

You’re then supposed to sift together the bicarb, cinnamon and flour. Am sure you’re unsurprised to hear I couldn’t be bothered. I just chucked it all in, but did obey the recipe and do it in two lots. Flour went bloody everywhere. It’s quite a stiff dough, this. Stiff and sticky.

20130406-151305.jpg

Stir in the cranberries and choc chips, I’d recommend a metal spoon to help cut through the dough.

20130406-151335.jpg

The recipe says to roll in balls of 2 tablespoons in size. Effing enormous. Mine I did more like round egg-size. Place quite far apart, onto papered baking trays.

Chuck in your oven for abut 15 minutes, or till they go a kind of light golden colour.

20130406-151602.jpg

They’ll come out all puffed up. Leave them on the baking trays for ten mins or so till they flatten out, then transfer to wire rack or whatever else you have to cool completely.

20130406-151726.jpg

Whilst they’re cooling, wash up. You could call the dog in from where she’s sunbathing outside to help with the beaters, forgetting that you’ve been undertaking a strict retraining regime with her to put a stop to the frankly invasive begging levels she has been achieving. Undo all your good work in about 30 seconds. Swear.

Eat a biscuit, as seen below. You won’t be able to taste anything cause you’re full of cold.

Bastard cold.

20130406-152321.jpg

6 thoughts on “The Hummingbird Bakery’s White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies

  1. christiok says:

    Those cookies look great! BTW, I love your attitude, and felt it was time I commented along those lines. πŸ™‚ You ARE an amazing girlfriend! lol Hope you’re feeling better soon….from a regular reader in Washington State, USA.

  2. narf77 says:

    If the boyfriend has ANY brains (and I dare say he does as you appear to have been with him for more than 2 weeks total…) he will just stay shtum till that cold evaporates ;). Love the look of those bickies and kudos for reclaiming the vernacular! BICKIES BISCUITS BICKIES how much better did that make me feel? What do you care…you are snot laden :(. Sorry about the cold but you might find the boyfriend is going to keep nefariously introducing infected tissues into your bedside table if you keep baking up gorgeous treats for him when you are sick…boyfriends are like dogs, give them an inch and they will take a mile and when you have been training them patiently all it takes is a chocolate chip bickie or a beater to undo all of that good work! ;). Hope you feel better soon and if it is any consolation, the dog looks overjoyed with that beater…Christmas came early for the dog πŸ™‚

    • b-kom says:

      He’s been very well behaved, I have to admit. Unlike the dog.

      • narf77 says:

        The dog has a worldwide reputation to uphold…can’t have “other country” dogs thinking that she is less than bolshie and is under her mistresses thumb now can we? πŸ˜‰

  3. […] drooling over Bree’s cranberry and white chocolate chip cookies I finally gave them a go yesterday. I decided to put my own spin on them* and do pecan and white […]

Leave a Reply

