Ottolenghi’s Cucumber & Poppyseed Salad

I’ve only just begun this post and I’ve lied already.

Well, kind of.

I made this with black onion seeds instead of poppy seeds, and I didn’t use the coriander. Boyfriend can’t really eat coriander and there is another salady thing happening today full of it so I am being kind.

This is the first of three Ottolenghi-themed posts. Yum. You lucky things, you.

20130309-105921.jpg

Ottolenghi says you need:

6 small cucumbers, about 500g (I used two big ones, as we are also eating lots of other stuff with this)
2 mild red chillis, thinly sliced
3 tablespoons roughly chopped coriander
60ml of white wine or rice vinegar (I accidentally used cider vinegar so it’s a bit sweeter but still very good)
125ml sunflower oil (I reckon I used about half of that)
2 tablespoons of poppy seeds
2 tablespoons caster sugar (I used less than one)
Salt and pepper

Basically you slice the washed cucumber all arty, like. On some kind of angle, basically. Add the chillis to the cucumber in a big bowl.

Add the rest of the ingredients and sort of massage, avoiding any hint of sexiness (cucumbers are easily embarrassed), till the sugar has dissolved. Taste it, season, add more of whatever you fancy to make the flavours right.

Ottolenghi says it should be sharp and sweet. I’m sharp and sweet.

I’m letting mine sit a couple hours at room temperature before I serve it so will def have some liquid to drain off. So far it tastes pretty good. Practically health.

20130309-110457.jpg

One thought on “Ottolenghi’s Cucumber & Poppyseed Salad

  1. narf77 says:

    I could eat that! For once I am speechless…take advantage of it, it doesn’t happen often 😉

Leave a Reply

