Guest Post – Brother in Law’s Sloppy Stew

Why hello there.

Yes, another guest post, this time from my brother-in-law.  Clearly in my sister’s house there’s a shitload of cooking going on.

The reason for the continued guest posts is highlighted below – ShitOven Is No More.

The boyfriend has done a sterling job in sorting ordering of NewOven (current working title), disconnection and removal of ShitOven, however we are yet to find someone with the requisite electronic nouse to get NewOven connected.  I’m taken with a rather unhealthy desire to bake a cake, just so I can have something cooked that doesn’t involve vast amounts of carbon and burnt bits.

In the meantime, do enjoy P’s stew.  He’s American by birth but you shouldn’t hold that against him, as he’s renounced all things shitly Yank and become an Aussie citizen, with the comedy trait of a nice US accent interspersed with words like ‘mate’ in slow, Aussie drawl. I like it.

Farewell (actually, don’t farewell, you piece of festering hell-junk) ShitOven.

20130203-110217.jpg

Right. So here’s P’s bit.  Enjoy. How can you not enjoy something called slop stew, really….?

—–

So people, I’m a native to America, however moved here to Perth, WA, in 1999, due to the blog author’s beautiful little sister Y, who blessed this page with her beautiful laksa…I was 23 and fell in love with the Aussie “family, food and a ‘few drinks'” attitude… And I love Lamb, f*ckin love it on the real…so here’s a dish I call “Slop Pot Lamb Stew” – inspired by my love for lamb, an assortment of excellent chefs and family cooking from the US and here, but my wife is the one who truly has influenced my love for food and cooking. So here we go:I will start by saying that it doesn’t matter if you use beef instead of lamb…I know how bloody expensive it is, but I was fortunate to get a 2 kilos of lamb leg for 6 bucks, but if you use beef it’s still the bizzomb…so again this whole recipe goes the same for beef…
Now the stew I grew up with everything in it was always chunky, like big pieces of super soft tender meat and chunky carrots, potatoes, etc….So do what you like with regard to cutting techniques but I will be writing in accordance with those things mentioned in mind.
(This recipe serves 6-8 people…WHAT?  I got kids to feed……)

20130203-093855.jpg

Ingredients:
  • 2 tbsp olive/vegetable oil
  • 2 kilos of shoulder/leg of lamb or beef, cut into 2 inch pieces, if on the bone keep it but cut as much off of it as you can.
  • 2 medium brown onions, diced n sliced
  • 2 shallots sliced n diced
  • 3-4 Green Onions (Spring Onions) diced
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic, chopped finely (crushed if you wish)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup red wine (one you would drink, doesn’t have to be expensive, but if you wouldn’t drink it why would you cook with it, right?)
  • 1 Litre (4 cups) of chicken/vegetable broth, 1 Litre of beef broth
  • 1 1/2 tsps of good quality sea salt
  • As much freshly ground pepper as you want, don’t be stupid with it, but pepper and stew are like bread and butter…
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes, or alternatively 4 chopped fresh tomatoes
  • 4-6 stalks of celery, cut them chunky
  • 4 -6 carrots, washed, skin on, cut them chunky
  • 5-8 decent sized potatoes of your choosing, they’re all yummy
Again I would like to note, cut down on the measurements for what you’re catering to.

20130203-093904.jpg

Slice and dice your onion collection, and mince/chop finely your garlic, throw it in a bowl and put to the side.

20130203-093916.jpg

Cut off the meat from the lamb leg into big Paul Bunyan chunks, keep the bone. Cut most of the thick fat off, give it to your dog but you don’t want too much fat.  (Ed’s note: we have stopped giving our dog the fat, because it goes straight through her, exiting at great speed and volume, with accompanying comedy noises and unfortunate olafactory concentration. Do this at your own risk).

20130203-093922.jpg

Get yourself a big pot and put your oil in it, and start frying off the meat, throw the bone in there too, for 2-3 minutes, make it all brownish in color then remove it from the pot.

20130203-093928.jpg

Put the meat aside in a bowl, then add all the onions to the pot, don’t let them burn, but put a lid on the pot and let them sweat and get all soft and soppy…

20130203-093932.jpg

While this is going on I usually get my son to do the dishes I’ve just used, as you can see he’s thrilled to be in the kitchen with me 🙂

Ed’s note: This child was once a sweet and delicious small baby. Now look at him…

20130203-093938.jpg

Once the onions are nice and soft, throw in the butter, then the flour, and stir around until it looks quite pastey and globby

20130203-093944.jpg

20130203-093949.jpg
When it looks like this add your glass of wine…

20130203-093954.jpg

Let the wine and the onion mixture simmer until it thickens, the add in your meat, along with the dried herbs, and stock…

20130203-094004.jpg

Add your salt and pepper, don’t be slack with the pepper!

Now this where you let it simmer for about an hour…and if you haven’t already, cut up your carrots, celery and potatoes to nice big chunks, or whatever size you prefer, like I said before this recipe is a hearty type of meal, it’s suppose to be sloppy and big home cooked winter comfort food, but really it’s good any day of the year in my opinion…

I added a bit of fresh parsley from my garden, and it’s excellent just as it is with some nice crusty bread and butter, however here’s some other variations you can do to make it interesting every time…

Add a couple of tin diced tomatoes
Add a mild fresh chilli
Serve on top of rice
Instead of having potatoes in the stew, make a nice mashed potato and serve the stew on top of it.
Add pumpkin.

20130203-094008.jpg

2 thoughts on “Guest Post – Brother in Law’s Sloppy Stew

  1. narf77 says:

    I KNEW nouse was a word! Whenever I type it in my word docs (that stubbornly revert to Americanisms on a regular basis…mutter!) it refuses to acknowledge it as “real”…bollocks, I am going to add it to the bloody dictionary now! This stew had best be good… On reading the title I instantly thought “Italian boyfriend…his brothers stew is going to rock!”…I know… technically he isn’t your “brother in law” yet but most people live together these days so he is a surrogate brother in law (my head is starting to hurt…it’s only 5.28am and it doesn’t want to jump through hoops yet!)…you see where this is going? Hopefully your sisters man is from somewhere equally as exotic and fish finger casserole (a sloppy one at that…) isn’t going to light my fire…(keep reading old girl…you might be pleasantly surprised…)
    Hopefully it isn’t “arrivederci” and is totally “Che liberazione” regarding shit oven. You have to give it a few kudos points for being bolshie enough to stand up to your constant Aussie demands and who knows…in a past life it might have been a punk oven content only with burning someones takeaway curry to be eaten with gusto and lager after a hard nights pogoing and giving the queen the bird…perhaps your bourgeois food was too rich for it’s prolitarian aspirations and it was reminding you of our Aussie “tall poppy” syndrome on steroids?
    Whatever the reason you are going to get a new oven! SQUEE! I hope we are going to get a post containing all of the sordid details and the perfectly baked beautiful creations that are going to emerge from this new oven…because you know that you can’t hide behind shit oven any more…you are now in the spotlight girl! 😉
    AMERICAN! Sigh…I am only reading on because I am loyal to the end. The son and heir has hooked up with a lovely girl from Texas who just got her visa extended for a year so they can now happily settle down to living the dream in Melbourne but she can’t cook for shit. Luckily I shuffled the son and heir off to the same cooking school that I went to and he actually went further than I did so he can shuffle a mean souffle and his cream puffs are to die for and apparently he can cook for a banquet of 30 people who won’t actually have to go to hospital or die from the results, so she doesn’t need to be able to cook BUT AMERICAN?! (mutter…mutter…)
    He does appear to have been here long enough to be able to make “Stoop”. My ex husbands dad (of Danish decent) used to make stoop and at least “The American”‘s version has a bit of substance to the broth. I think being a yank in Australia is like being a mainlander in Tasmania, it takes 50 years to become one of the locals…I think your B.I.L. is going to have to pay his dues for a bit longer…love the surly teenager shot, you can give your B.I.L. 10 kudos points for having a son that looks just like an Aussie teenager being asked to do the dishes… (1 step closer yank…I step closer… 😉 )

  2. Pete Styla says:

    Lmao….speechless….thank you….I think? However serving in the Royal Australian Navy and foregoing my US citizenship for the last 10 years makes me Aussier than most…

Leave a Reply

