Guest Post – Sister Laksa

Hello.

We spent the weekend in the New Forest with friends.  It was nice, and the first remotely sunny day or so in about a month.  Chilly, of course, but not frigid like recent days have been.  There were ponies and donkeys and hot stews and bacon rolls.  Was very acceptable.

Here is the dog, posing in the window.  Shameless.

20130127-165626.jpg

Anyway, the title is right, here be a guest post.  I woke up last Friday to an email from my youngest sister, detailing her forays into Laksa.  I bloody love Laksa, and hers looks a treat.  I have to admit to not trawling Asian supermarkets here in the UK as much as I did back home in Oz.  Asian food back home is the best. I miss it.

So, give this a go.  And thanks be to Y, for her timely donation to this blog which has, incidentally, passed its year anniversary with barely a snigger.  I am sure I was supposed to make a song and dance about it, but typically will have been complaining about something or other at the time and totally missed it all.

PS:  Y is YEARS younger than me, so she can get away with cool yoof-speak in a way that, if I tried, would only lead to laughter and eventual assault.  Enjoy.

—–

Y’s Prawn Laksa

Was making a laksa today for my mates n I thought I’d try my hand at sending you the info – not very good at this bloggy stuff however I make up for it in the laksa stakes so here goes I guess.

20130127-165509.jpg

1 1/2 tablespoons coriander seeds
1 tablespoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
2-3 shallots roughly chopped
3cm piece o ginger peeled roughly chopped
3 cloves o garlic
3 stems o lemongrass roughly chopped
6-8 macadamia nuts
4-6 fresh red birds eye chillies – seeds r up to you how spicy you like it?!
2-3 teaspoons of shrimp paste
1 litre of chicken stock
1/4 cup of oil
2 400ml tins of coconut milk
4 kaffir lime leaves
2 1/2 tablespoons of lime juice
2 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons grated palm sugar or soft brown sugar
750g of raw prawns peeled/ deveined with tails in tact
250 g rice noodles
250g egg Asian egg stir fry noodles
1cup of bean sprouts
4 fried tofu puffs in strips
A small bunch of Asian greens I use Choy sum or bok choy finely shredded plus stems
3 tablespoons of mint roughly chopped
A big bunch of torn coriander leaves
Lime cheeks 1 per serve

20130127-165531.jpg

It’d be nice to have the prawns deveined as this task I am least impressed with – as they are it appears!!
Method to the Madness
Grind and dry roast the cumin, coriander n turmeric till fragrant don’t burn it!
Place the spices in a blender (or mortar n pestle if you’re dedicated and need an arm workout) along with shallots, ginger, garlic, lemongrass, macadamias, chillies, shrimp paste and 1/2 a cup of chicky (Ed’s note: this is yoof-speak for chicken.  I think.) stock and blend to a paste.

Heat the oil over a low heat and cook the amazing paste for 5 mins – stir it so it doesn’t burn or stick and generally love it up in the pan and sniff its amazingness!

Add the remaining stock, bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and allow to simmer till the liquid reduces slightly – takes about 15 mins. I watched snippets of Dr. Phil and Sun, Sex and Suspicious Parents during this time and was fairly eager to return to the pan.

20130127-165541.jpg

Add the lime leaves, coconut cream, lime juice , fish sauce and palm sugar n simmer for another 5 mins.

20130127-165548.jpg

Have a little taste and adjust your sweet, hot, sour, salty balance if need be. Then add the prawns. Simmer for 2 mins.

20130127-165601.jpg

Meanwhile boil the jug and soak your vermicelli/egg noodles in boiling water for 5 mins or until soft. Drain and divide amongst your bowls. Top with most of the sprouts, some of those Asian greens ….

… then ladle over the steaming soup. Top each bowl with tofu, mint, coriander and a few more sprouts and finish with a lime cheek on the side.

20130127-165613.jpg

If this soup doesn’t put a pep in your step nothing will!!
(Yes there is chicken in my soup for the kids!!!)
Peace

20130127-165618.jpg

4 thoughts on “Guest Post – Sister Laksa

  1. narf77 says:

    Ah the sweet mysteries of “yoof” :). I, too, have a younger sister…where I rule the savoury roost she rules the sea of sweets. Laksa is one of my soul foods. I think it brings out the salty position that we Aussies have as dubious first world competitors in the Asian region. Bollocks to heirachy, Laksa is the bomb! I could eat it for every meal and still not get tired of it after a week…although I might need considerably more toilet paper (just sayin’…). Glad the dog has regained her position as “top dog” in the house and is shamelessly flaunting her status on top of the couch on the blog. I will be sure to show Bezial and Earl and you can be sure that there will be a great gnashing of teeth in the despair of their lowly position (they can’t lay on the back of the couch…at 35 and 40kg respectively, the couch couldn’t cope!) so have to remain on the floor. All she needs is a little crown and she will be right! Great recipe, great reminder that it is summer here and that laksa is good summer food and great timing as it is just about shopping day and I am going to be jotting down Asian ingredients for Steve to pick up (aside from the ubiquitous spring roll wrappers that is 🙂 ). Good to see that you are getting a hint of spring…we got a hint of winter and actually had Brunhilda on as Queensland is getting drowned and they kindly decided to send a little bit of rain down our parched, arid desert like coast…”much appreciated Queensland sir!” (holding cap most deferentially in hand…)…”Happy blog aniversary to yooooou….happy blog aniversary to Youuuu….Happy blog aniversary dear Baking, stuff mostly averagely….happy blog aniversary to yooooooooou!” :). I, too, missed my year aniversary. They didn’t even remind me or anything and I just kept trying to tame the size of my posts as the muses fought for supremicy in my head (THE BELLS…THE BELLS!!!) so welcome to the club :).

    • b-kom says:

      Oh I want to make spring rolls now. Actually, those fresh Vietnamese summer roll stylee ones…..mmmmmm.

      Dog is only a mere 13.5kg so no competition for your boys, although I bet she could beat them when it comes to speed.

      • narf77 says:

        I dunno…Earl is the bomb with speed. Huge chest (like your girl) and no ass and when he gets going you have to hug the walls! He once zoomed from the bedroom to the loungeroom when I foolishly threw a toy for our other dog Bezial (no threat from him, he lumbers 😉 ) and he hit me in the back of the legs and took me completely out! Up in the air and straight down onto the wooden floor…it would have been hilarious if Steve could have videoed it and put it on youtube…Earl would have been famous 😉 I dare say your dog is MUCH more genteel 🙂 Steve just had spring rolls last night. I don’t fry them, I brush them with a bit of ricebran oil and bbq them and they are amazing done that way. We also bake them in the oven. Never tried the Vietnamese summer rolls but I do have ricepaper wrappers so might have to remedy that some day soon 🙂

      • b-kom says:

        They are delicious, I recommend them wholeheartedly.

        Little whippets are surprisingly hardy when it comes to crashing into your legs at high speed, when loss of control becomes an issue. Dangerous dogs, innit.

Leave a Reply

