Peanut Butter Cup Cookies. Instant Obesity.

Guess who’s back?  Monday’s back.

My day started with a visit to the office by a friendly and very relaxed engineer who was here as he had to, ‘poke around your water systems a bit to check for Legionnaire’s’.  Sounds more fun than it was.  He says we’re safe.  I suppose I should trust him.

Anyway I’m here alone all day in the office, and true to current form have blasted through work emails before launching a new blog post upon the world.  Yesterday me and the boyfriend were relatively efficient in getting all our ‘jobs’ done by about 1pm.  This consisted of sitting in bed, with the dogs of course, reading the papers and eating Crunchy Nut Cornflakes till about 930am.  Then we hit up the big pet shop for supplies for said dogs, then we took them for a long walk around a big previously-posh house and gardens.  Then a drive-by hitup of Waitrose, then home.

I got bored about 2 hours later.  Sometimes an afternoon of doing nothing sounds like utter bliss, until it actually happens.  I had, a couple of weeks ago, been over-excited by a Sainsburys offer of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups for only 32p.  I bought about 6 packets.  Way too many.  They’ve been sitting in the cupboard since, requiring use.  I was thinking of melting them down and using in a banana bread.  Might still do that. In the meantime I did some googling, got trapped on Pinterest for a bit (don’t really get that place, is not my thing – what the hell is the point of plastering photos of stuff you like up on an internet wall?) and then happened upon http://www.the-baker-chick.com/2012/08/soft-peanut-butter-cup-cookies.html – an altogether more professional and NICE baking blog than this one.

I made the cookies. They smelt great.  I’ve only eaten one, actually.  SUCH RESTRAINT.  The rest have gone with the boyfriend to his place of work.

20121028-144640.jpg

Obviously I adapted the recipe a little bit – I didn’t bother with extra choc chips and I used cold butter but just grated it.

I also reckon you could do without the extra sugar – the brown sugar will do.  Either way, here’s the original recipe:-

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature   – As I said, I used cold, about 115g

1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar – you absolutely don’t need to add this unless you like your sweet stuff tooth-rotteningly preserved
1 egg
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter – I don’t know what creamy PB is.  Isn’t all PB creamy? I used smooth but I would be equally happy to use crunchy
1 tsp vanilla extract – I used 2 teaspoons
1/2 tsp baking soda – Bicarb soda, in my case
1/4 tsp salt – didn’t bother with this
1 and 1/4 cups all purpose flour – plain flour, I believe.  Is what I used, anyway
1/2 cup mini peanut butter cups (OR fun size or regular size peanut butter cups, chopped) – I used 9 normal-sized Peanut Butter Cups, chopped up
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips – didn’t bother with these

20121028-144646.jpg

Lo! Grated butter.  It grates nicely out of the fridge, gets to room temperature in about a minute.  Excellent cheat, this.

20121028-144650.jpg

Cream the butter and sugar(s) till light and fluffy. You can do that if you want, or you can get it to the above stage, as I did, and it’ll be just fine.  Add the vanilla and the egg and beat in well.

20121028-144655.jpg

Incidentally, if you don’t have one of these measuring cup things, might I heartily recommend them?  They do weights and measures so you don’t need to bother with scales most of the time.

20121028-144719.jpg

This is what 9 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups looks like when chopped up.  You can appreciate why I felt the extra choc chips were unnecessary.

20121028-144723.jpg

Add the flour and bicarb to the mix and just combine, adding the choc cup thingies and then mixing till properly combined.  It’s a nice dry dough, should look like the above.

Stick it in the fridge for 30 minutes.  It’s a faff but worth it.

After about 20 mins put your oven on to pre-heat at Gas Mark 4, or about 160-180C depending on how good/fan-forced yours is.

20121028-144727.jpg

Roll out into balls the size of the testicles recently removed from the foster dog.  Keep them nice and smooth and round – it’ll help that the dough is a bit cool for this.  Place on a lined baking tray and put in the oven for 8-9 mins.

20121028-144732.jpg

This is my main baking cupboard.  It’s a fucking mess and I have no idea what is at the back anymore.  Some good stuff, probably, and maybe Gollum.

Anyway, these bikkies won’t take any more than the stated time – get them out and place on a cooling rack – they’ll start out soft but the outsides will quickly firm up.  They stay rather moist inside.

They’re so sweet.  Actually they taste really American.  Makes sense, I guess.  We Australians like our biscuits a little more prosaic (ANZACS) or utterly OTT (Iced Vovos).

Enjoy, with milk.

20121028-144742.jpg

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cup Cookies. Instant Obesity.

  1. narf77 says:

    I often sit here looking at photos of your dogs and feel a distinct envy starting to rise. They look so wrangle easy. Our boys are heifers. They don’t mess around too much for Steve because he has coathanger shoulders and used to benchpress twice his weight and they are not stupid dogs…but for me it’s a different story. Walks are not “walks” per-se. The dog that I have to walk is a 35kg American Staffy wide eyed and bushy tailed hell bent on sniffing EVERYTHING that has been in the area for the last 46 years being extremely hampered by the fat anchor dragging along behind him. I can only wistfully think about leisurly strolls through beautiful gardens…our dogs do shameless things in other peoples gardens and we are slaves to small black odiferous bags. I must admit though, no park ranger is going to check my little black bag for contraband seeds and plant material so I do get the occasional win-win situation when I pilfer the odd doggy-do bag for nefarious reasons ;).
    I don’t need to worry too much about food calories any more…all I have to do is shackle myself to Earl and take him for another walk and by the time I get back, all of the nervous dragging will have rendered veganised versions of those scrumptious babies gone. I can’t believe that I went through 2 thrashed senseless sleep deprived years of cooking school and didn’t learn to grate cold butter from the fridge. Consider me converted! Nothing like a sad pool of butter after you have tried to cheat by putting your butter icicles into the microwave for a few seconds to try to soften them. What if some of your readers are unfamiliar with dog testicle sizing?! You may have just sent them over the edge! You may have just sent Earl over the edge as well because I will have to follow him about suruptitiously to visually do a check and he is VERY suspicious about anyone sneaking up on him from behind…its almost like he knows…Emmm iced vo-vo’s! 😉 Cheers for another scrumptious recipe. I probably won’t make them to be honest…too sweet by far but I might make some as a care package for my son’s Texan sweetie who has moved to Melbourne and is still raving about “Arsy” everything. I think she may have leached most of the sugar out of her by now and need a top up 😉

    • b-kom says:

      The whippets are a bit easier to wrangle, it’s true…except when they get sniff of a squirrel or rabbit, then you can’t see them for dust….get one! Poor Earl, soon to join the no-balls club. Still, it’s the majority trend.

      The cookies are REALLY sweet, not sure if I’d make them again, or if I did might muck around with the recipe a bit to make them flatter, more chewy. We’ll see.

      • narf77 says:

        I dare say the american sweetie would adore them ;). No matter how fine boned a dog is, as soon as something interests them they are suddenly goliath.

  2. Kristen says:

    Crunchy peanut butter has bits of chopped peanuts throughout. Although the opposite of crunchy really should be smooth, we Americans distinguish between the two types by calling them either crunchy or creamy. It’s serious business

Leave a Reply

