Chocolate Rough Slice

Good morning.
I made a deliberate decision to get up later than I should this morning.  It has had the knock-on effect of me missing ALL the trains, and having to run like Mo Farah for another one.  I am sure I have died as a result.  Anyway, am here now and of course whilst casting a sideways eye over the work email account decided to upload this little recipe first.

ShitOven is back in business!  The boyfriend fixed it, whilst I was upstairs having a nice lay down on Saturday afternoon.  Good boyfriend.  Basically he said all the foil-based fortifications I’d erected inside ShitOven to prevent it from incinerating everything had turned to ash and shut out the pilot light.  So, it’s fixed.  I’ve baked this slice (somewhat burnt) and a stew (to be blogged later, also somewhat burnt), so things are very much back to normal.

ShitOven has burnt me, twice.  It must’ve heard me make mention of replacements.

Rightyo – Chocolate Rough Slice – this was a favourite thing of mine (and my family) growing up – to cook and eat.  Bit of rough, innit.  Also, delicious.

20121014-160509.jpg

Pre-heat your oven to 180C or gas mark 3/4.  Ish.

Get:-

½ cup self raising flour
½ cup plain flour
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/3 cup caster sugar
1/3 cup desiccated coconut
125g butter, melted

And for the topping:
1 cup icing sugar
1 ½ tablespoons cocoa powder
1 tablespoon softened butter
2/3 cup desiccated coconut
1 cup condensed milk

Grease and line a 20x30cm type slice dish pan thingy.  You know what I mean.  If you don’t, then you’re probably not the best person to be making this.

20121014-160516.jpg

Sift together both flours and the cocoa.  No cheating I’m afraid, you need to sift properly.

Add the sugar and coconut, mix through.  Make a well in the centre, according to the recipe.  I rarely do this, but for propriety I have done so today.  Or yesterday, rather, which is when this whole shebang occurred.

20121014-160524.jpg

Mix in the melted butter till it looks like the above – kind of a crumble type thing.  It’s freaking delicious.  Eat some, then press lightly but neatly into the lined slice pan thingy and chuck it in the oven for 20 mins.  Unless you have ShitOven, in which case it’ll take about 30 seconds.

20121014-160534.jpg

In the same bowl (well, you can use another bowl if you want, but you’d be mad to) sift in the icing sugar and cocoa.  Make a mess, like me.

20121014-160545.jpg

Meet Archie, the new foster.  He’s quite sweet, considering he’s come from a disadvantaged home.  The current UK Tory government would no doubt want us to get him to sign a behaviour contract and stop smoking but we’ve not done that, I’m afraid.

20121014-160559.jpg

After stirring in the softened butter as much as you can (if you’re anything like me, that’ll be not bloody much at all) add the condensed milk and coconut.  Stir.  You’ll need muscles.

20121014-160609.jpg

Pull the slice out of the oven and let it cool nearly all the way, won’t take long.

Pour over the topping and refrigerate for a good couple hours.  Below is it, sliced, before waiting 2 hours.  Topping-sludge.  If you do wait it’s much less runny.  Eat, eat it all.  I had 4 slices last night.

Please note the colour of the baking paper.  That’s only 20 mins in ShitOven.  Seriously, I am actually playing with fire every time I cook.  Danger danger.

20121014-160621.jpg

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Rough Slice

  1. Cindy Taylor says:

    No eggs!!!! Perfect for my husband’s best friend who can’t eat them. Nevrer heard of it before which is sad because it looks luscious.

  2. narf77 says:

    If they didn’t know it before, EVERYONE now knows you are an Aussie! The ubiquitous coconut rough slice surfaces! Mum was a dead set legend at coconut rough slice. We were raised on it and I had eaten it approximately 42 million times before I ever tasted an actual coconut rough. Running eh? Someone probably took a video on their phone and it’s already uploaded to youtube (remind me to check your swan song later on today). Shit oven is apparently pissed at you. You might have to salve its ego as it has probably heard about you slagging it off at every opportunity and maybe that is why it went on strike? I hope you patted the good boyfriend on the head (much like Benny Hill on that little bald guys head…) to give him praise for his actions…boyfriends are like dogs. You need to pat them regularly to reward good behaviour and jump up and down maniacally waving your arms around like a windmill to show them when you are displeased. That goes against EVERY dog training video I have ever watched but then again it works better than ingoring them while they are tearing up your leather couch and shredding your $300 goosedown doona with joy.

    Noice shoes and pants by the way. Red suits your black socked feet ;). Glad you allow the new dog to still smoke. He appears to be affecting an attitude right there on your couch. No doubt he hasn’t been allowed on couches before and is secretly relishing his luck whilst trying to appear nonchalent and blase…enjoy it while you can doggy, you will soon be on the nicorette tablets! You might regret him not signing that contract…at least your sofa isn’t leather (like ours is…was…). I am having a nostalgic moment looking at that slice. Mum might not be here to make it for me any more but I bloody well can! “Its sloice all round guys!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

