Middle Class Chicken

Hullo.

You’ve probably made this already.  I don’t seem to be doing a lot of new cooking lately (ie, I’m cooking lots of stuff I’ve already blogged, I’ve been blogging for 10 months now, that means a LOT of things non-repeated, it’s utterly exhausting) but last night I made this and I know I’ve not blogged it and so you’re getting it.

It’s quite tasty.  Eat it with lots of working class vegetables to even out the class divide.  Actually we ate it with cheddar-stuffed mushrooms (working class cheddar, middle class stuffed mushrooms), asparagus (totally middle class) and corn on the cob (well working class), so I’m not sure where we’ve ended up.  We even used proper butter and Maldon sea salt on the corn, god help us.
Anyway…

20121003-102238.jpg

It’s middle class chicken.  So you need:-

Pesto

Parma ham

Organic free range chicken breasts

Plus some olive oil and cracked black pepper.  You won’t need any salt as by the time the pesto and parma ham have done their salty thing your lips will be shrivelling like the snails my grandmother throws on the road to play ‘chicken’.  They inevitably lose.

20121003-102249.jpg

Slice into the thickest side of the chicken breast, making a kind of pocket but not really.  It’s really just a slice.  You can arse about making a proper pocket from the top of the thing all the way down if you like.  I don’t like.

20121003-102258.jpg

Lay a good teaspoon of pesto in the opened bit.  You can dilute this a bit with cream cheese if you want. I didn’t have any cream cheese, so I didn’t, so that’s probably why it was Really Quite Salty at the done end of things.

20121003-102308.jpg

Lay a piece of parma ham over the sliced bit, then roll up in two more bits.  I’ve shown you above what to do.  S’not rocket science.

20121003-102325.jpg

As usual I’ve forgotten to tell you to pre-heat the oven to 200C or so.  Do that.

Brown off in an oven-proof frypan, just gently, and throw in the oven for around 20 minutes or until done.  I took mine a bit over.  They were a bit dry.  Very average baking on my part.

20121003-102345.jpg

Out of the oven they’ll look a bit like the above. Let them rest whilst you plate up whatever social class of vegetable you’ve chosen.

20121003-102416.jpg

The above photo is to demonstrate the utter lack of light in the kitchen.  We’ve got shitty lights, inherited from the previous owners who appeared to spend as little as humanly possible on things like working lights, ShitOvens and cupboard fronts. Also, the dog is present, doing her usual begging. If we actually fed her as often as she asked she’d be less whippety and more St Bernard.  There needs to be at least one skinny person in our house and at the moment the dog is it.

Below is the finished product, inadvisably sliced in two with a serrated knife.  Don’t do that. I was trying to show you the pesto in the middle.  Not really successful.

This dish is fast and easy and not too pricey, bit like me.

20121003-102435.jpg

5 thoughts on “Middle Class Chicken

  1. narf77 says:

    Another culinary class war for the masses. The only reason you highlighted the class issue is that we Aussie pretend not to have classes here…its all bollocks of course…you try telling a socialite from North Sydney that she is the same class from a yobbo from Liverpool and you will get a silver fork in your eye! Our asparagus is decidedly lower class…welfare class in fact. It is growing in the gutter where the chooks peck it because its in the way of tasty things. No corn yet…give us a go! Its only spring and spring in Tassie is more like Autumn in the U.K….except with gutter asparagus that is. No parma ham or pesto but I could make some if I could be bothered (can’t…so won’t…) and I am too lazy to hurtle around the back yard after one of our wiley free rangers to effect any sort of free range chook dinner so its shepherds pie and baked beans for the expat and steamed veggies a la vegan for me! I did get gravy though! (my meal sounds a lot like your ready meal…sigh…). At least your meal looks like it might offer you more nutrition than just chloride this time. Glad to see the other half is back as you may have done yourself an injury with all those ready meals 😉

  2. Clare says:

    I only just discovered your blog and I like it very much. It has almost inspired me to unearth my own shabby and neglected attempt which is quite some feat.

    I have lurked for a few weeks, but have decided to comment now as I make a similar thing to this sometimes but with a mixture of cream cheese and blue cheese in the middle instead of pesto. I don’t know where it would stand on the class spectrum though. The blue cheese is usually dolce latte or gorgonzola (both a bit snobby), but mixed with Philadelphia (slightly on the common side).

Leave a Reply

