Rolo & Pecan Brownies, Bite-Sized

Afternoon.  It’s pelting with rain here in England.  Totally unacceptable.  Also, the leaves are falling from trees and it’s getting cold at night and although it’s still September I’ve heard rumours of supermarkets with Christmas goods on display already, and a hotel in a mid-England city with a tree up already.  DISALLOW.

Obviously having come home from an amazing food-laden holiday the boyfriend and I made all sorts of promises to eat healthy.  We kind of are during the week but I had a good enough excuse (friend’s birthday) to do some baking, and so did.  This recipe is originally from an Aussie Women’s Weekly one (therefore is guaranteed Good), but they made it with walnuts (which are ok).  I made it with pecans (which are infinitely superior).  The Rolos are pretty nice, too.  Eat the last one yourself, obviously.

They’re brilliantly delicious and fast to cook – don’t let anyone tell you brownies are an artisan art form – anyone can make them if you use good ingredients and don’t burn the living hell out of them.  Remember that.

And so:-

20120926-135939.jpg

Stick your oven on moderate.  I put ShitOven on a low Gas Mark 3.  Still too hot, as you’ll discover shortly.

Get together:-

1/2 cup (50g) pecans, toasted, chopped finely
80g butter
150g dark chocolate, chopped coarsely
3/4 cup (150g) firmly packed brown sugar
1 egg, beaten lightly
1/3 cup (50g) plain flour
1/4 cup (60g) sour cream
3 x 50g packets Rolos

20120926-135959.jpg

Melt the butter and chocolate, broken into pieces, over a very low heat until combined and silky.  Don’t let it boil, you’ll ruin it.

Once combined, let it cool a while. I think the recipe says to do all this in a medium saucepan and you can subsequently mix everything in the saucepan, but I didn’t read that far ahead and so melted it up in a tiny saucepan and therefore had to transfer the mess into a new mixing bowl and THEN had more washing up to do.  Sucks to be me.

20120926-140012.jpg

Whilst the choc-butter mix is cooling, chop your nuts, or your partner’s nuts, depending on how he has been behaving.  I guess this also depends on whether you have a he for a partner.  I don’t mean to be exclusive.

20120926-140027.jpg

In a muffin or yorkshire pudding tin place some patty cases.  I suppose you could just cook them straight in the tin, come to think of it.
Obviously I didn’t.

Place a sprinkling of chopped nuts in the bottom of each muffin case.  See above for precise sprinkling.

20120926-140042.jpg

Mix your brown sugar into the choc-butter mix, and add your lightly beaten egg.

20120926-140102.jpg

Then the flour, then the cream.

It also now occurs to me that you could stir in the sugar whilst the choc-butter stuff is still nice and warm, to dissolve it.  Do that.

20120926-140118.jpg

Spoon the mix into the muffin cases, equally.  They rise only a little bit so don’t be measly.

Plonk a Rolo in the centre of each one.

20120926-140140.jpg

Gently move the mix over the Rolo.

Again it occurs to me now that there’s nothing actually wrong with leaving the Rolo out in plain view.  Personal choice.  You choose.

Chuck them in the oven for up to 15 mins or until cooked.

20120926-140201.jpg

Whilst they cook, please feel free to admire my favourite thing from Italy, a chocolate grater thingy.  I also found one for cheese by the boyfriend wouldn’t let me buy it.  He’s like that.  He’s always looking for reasons to say no and I’m always looking for reasons to say yes.  It’s why we live in such perfect harmony.

Check the brownies.  If you have ShitOven they’ll be ruined.  If not, take them out and let them cool.

20120926-140216.jpg

ShitOven ruined brownies, with added taste of carbony charcoal.  I HATE SHITOVEN.

Anyway never minding that, they actually taste pretty yum and properly brownie-like rather than cupcake-like.  See below for internal display of melted Rolo.

Delicious.

Enjoy.  I must away back to work, I’ve an unwanted uni course to pay for.

20120926-140227.jpg

7 thoughts on “Rolo & Pecan Brownies, Bite-Sized

  1. Mark says:

    Your boyfriend sounds like a douchebag, albeit a very handsome one.

  2. Mel says:

    I am very interested that you do chocolate & butter together. I was instructed by Sir Nigel of Slater that you do butter & sugar and beat them until the mixture actually learns to talk and begs forgiveness for it’s transgressions. This method has always worked for me, with lovely fudgey results, so I’ve stuck to it. BUT your laissez faire ways without a whip seem like a lot less effort, and equally gooey. I may give it a go, sans Rolo, and see what happens. Thanks

  3. narf77 says:

    I guess its the base Aussie inside you that is indignant about your Northern winter. Our spring is full of promises (mainly sunburn and wasps) and the sun is myopically peering through the clouds occasionally to burn everything in our glass house whilst bypassing our deck where we stand chilled in jumpers shivering as we sip our morning beverage of choice. I just took a massive Aussie Womans Weekly book called simply “Bake” out of the library to give it a test run the other day. This book should be called “Bible” for cooks! I usually scab a few recipes, get my old typing fingers out and steal with impunity but just about every single page of this massive book had at least 2 recipes that I absolutely positively HAD to make so it looks like I am going to have to find one for myself (or pay the library for it because “the dog ate it”! ;)). Pecans are only superior because you don’t have a fresh source of walnuts in the shell. I got some from a friend and they taste as sweet and delicious a pecans with the added bonus that by the time you shell them all…lose your temper…throw a few walnuts off the deck to the chagrin of the feral cats below…you have lost all of the calories that you are going to injest in these delectable morsals! Ah the yin yang of relationships! I too have a partner who has problems with my kitchen gadget “MUST HAVE” attitude. I get at least half of what I want and sulk for the rest so I get that as well…only at a later date. I win, he thinks he won…a win-win situation all round ;). I think I have to make them…I think I MUST make them! Steve LOVES rolos (a U.K. thing I am sure) and chocolate and all things baked and Brunhilda surely has an edge on Shitoven? (Surely?!) and as she is in her “winding down for the summer” phase and being damped down through the day so that we don’t feel like we are both in early menopause having to strip off our clothing like Swedes at the first hint of a sauna, she should be cool enough to bake these amazing morsels. Cheers for a fantastic recipe and another wonderfully written post. You should write a book! I would buy it 🙂

    • b-kom says:

      I tried a ‘wet’ walnut the other day, very young and not dried out….wasn’t at all sure about it!

      Stay warm and pray for sunshine, it’ll arrive eventually, even in Tassie I am sure. And it sounds like for sure Brunhilda is more than ready to get baking. She truly cannot be as awful as ShitOven. Good luck and lt me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

