Guest Post – Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

Hi there.

You are being guest posted.

I asked E, who is another person I don’t actually know in real life but whom I seem to quite like on Twitter because she’s sweary and makes inappropiate comments about parenting.  She cooks a bit, and she mentioned she was making these things, and I thought YUM (because I was hungry and cake-deprived) but also YAY (because I don’t have to put you lot through yet another diet-dull post).

Here you go, then.  Banana cupcakes and peanut butter frosting.  How could you not?

PS: If some of the below photos aren’t turned around the right way it’s totally not my fault.

—-

Full disclosure: I do not like cupcakes. They’re so PRETTY, with their fancy-pants frostings and decorations and bright colours, but I have yet to meet a cupcake that delivers on its visual promise. Dry, indifferent sponge, frosting so sweet that it feels like my teeth are wearing itty bitty woolly jumpers. No thank you, sir.

I do, however, like bananas. And peanut butter. And banana bread. And peanut butter and banana milkshakes. And Elvis. I really like Elvis. So when I staggered across this recipe on my interweb travels I felt compelled* to make them.

*I really needed a sugar hit.

These do not have that airy, light (and dry, amirite?) cupcake consistency. They’re moist, and dense, and delicious. Ok, I guess – since we’re being honest here – they’re ACTUALLY banana bread in cupcake casings. With frosting on top. But, providing you like both bananas and peanut butter, they are bloody amazing and I love them long time.

I’ve adapted this recipe from one I found on Epicurious. Epicurious is an American site and thus all the measurements are in bloody cups and sticks (I mean, a STICK of butter? Whatefa, my American friends?) which I converted using my American cup measure and a digital scale. I’ll leave the original American measurements in though, in case you’d rather follow those.

For 12 cupcakes you will need:

170g (1 ¼ cups) flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

¼ teaspoon salt

2-3 very ripe bananas, peeled.

100g (½ cup) sour cream or Greek yoghurt (I used low fat because I like to delude myself)

1 ½ teaspoon good quality vanilla extract

150g (3/4 cup) sugar

110 g (1 stick) butter at room temperature

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

Frosting:

100g icing sugar

½ pack cream cheese (again, low fat because wheeee, delusions!)

50g unsalted butter at room temperature

Smooth peanut butter – now, the original recipe calls for ½ cup peanut butter. Personally I found that this was not peanutty enough for me, so I kept adding it tablespoon by tablespoon until I had the flavour I wanted (i.e. it tasted VERY much like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup) which took about half a 340g jar of Sun Pat. Add it to taste, is what I’m trying to say.

You will also need cupcake cases and preferably a cupcake or muffin pan.

Do like so:

Preheat oven to 170c. Line your cupcake/muffin pan with cupcake cases.

Mix together flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt in a medium bowl. Mash bananas in another bowl. I like to leave them a little lumpy, but mash yours as smooth as you like. Mix the sour cream/Greek yoghurt and vanilla essence into the bananas.

In a third, larger bowl, beat sugar and butter until all light and fluffy. I recommend an electric mixer for this, because doing it by hand feels far too much like exercise. Add egg and egg yolk until well blended. Then add your flour mixture in three additions alternating with banana mixture in two additions, beginning and ending with flour mixture and beating until just blended after each addition. Do not over blend.

I do not know what would happen if you don’t follow these instructions to the goddamn LETTER. Probably your kitchen would explode. And something about the Four Horsemen.

Divide batter between the cupcake cases. Be quite generous – it won’t rise that much.

Resist the temptation to eat all the batter straight out of the bowl because this is OMG THE BEST BATTER EVER. I had to chase my toddler away using a big stick. Seriously, it’ll be like a demented piranha frenzy in your kitchen when it comes to licking the bowl/whisks.

Bake cupcakes for about 20 minutes, until they pass the toothpick/skewer test. Now, your cupcakes might fall a little after having been removed from the oven but *Kenneth Branagh face* BE NOT AFEARD, this is perfectly normal and as it should be. Honest. Yup.

Put cupcakes on a rack and let cool completely.

Whilst the cupcakes are doing their baking and cooling thing whizz together the frosting. Sift the icing sugar into a big bowl, add the cream cheese, butter and peanut butter (peanut butter to taste as per above) and beat until smooth. It’ll look a bit blah, but it will taste like dreams and rainbows.

Spread the frosting onto the completely cooled cupcakes, as seen below.

I can’t frost cupcakes, by the way. I contemplated watching a YouTube tutorial in honour of this guest post and all but in the end I couldn’t be arsed. Fuck it. Rustic presentation is all the rage.

Eat your cupcakes. They might not look as airy-fairy as your normal cupcakes, but they are DELICIOUS. And probably very bad for you. But let’s not think about that right now.

One thought on “Guest Post – Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. narf77 says:

    Dreams AND rainbows? I am THERE!

Leave a Reply

