Lunch

Evening.

No cooking today but, instead, a rather excellent example of what to eat when hungover.  We were at a wedding last night.  It was a good wedding.  Good because it was a marriage between two good friends, populated by guests who were also good.  Finally, there was a good amount of boozes to be had.

We stayed overnight at the venue, rather cleverly, and so on the drive home today we stopped in at the supermarket for supplies.

20120624-184107.jpg

This is what your hangover face should look like.  Ideally you’ll be wearing a pair of fashion sunglasses inside.

20120624-184115.jpg

Purchase:-

Bagels ( I prefer sesame seed ones, they deliver endless added value as you pick the seeds from your teeth for several weeks afterwards)

A roast chicken (not a happy chicken, I’m afraid, as they don’t tend to offer those, but still, desperate times call for desperate chickens)

Rocket, or some other green leaf of your choosing.

From your cupboard or fridge you’ll need:-

Butter, or equivalent

Smoked paprika

Calve, the last tube from your last visit to Italy.  Get some Calve.  IT’S AMAZING.  I don’t know what will happen when we run out, there’ll be wailing for sure.

20120624-184126.jpg

Give the Calve a kiss, for you love it so.

20120624-184145.jpg

Slice your bagels in half.  You will undoubtedly end up with two slices that fit together like halves of a rollercoaster.  It’s scientifically impossibe to cut bagels straight.

Butter and then add a squeeze of Calve, then sprinkle over the smoked paprika.

Add the chicken, torn up.  I had a photo of this bit but it has disappeared and I really can’t be bothered to go find it.  Imagine a nice tower of chicken pieces laying happily upon the Calve, like oiled tourists on a package holiday to Greece.

20120624-184203.jpg

Throw on a large handful of rocket, add a drumstick and serve with a sugary beverage of some sort.  Today I went for the rarely-imbibed and possibly cancer-causing global virus of crap drinks you see pictured above.  I am still ashamed, but I also feel a lot better for having drunk it.  For now.

The dog will, as below, inevitably and unsuccessfully beg for the leftover chicken bones.  Do not give them to her.

This is a delicious sandwich.  I have just eaten the exact same thing again (minus the C*** C***) for supper.

I shall be in bed by approximately 8pm this evening, I wager.

20120624-184213.jpg

5 thoughts on “Lunch

  1. Mel says:

    One can also enjoy Calve in the Netherlands. I agree, it is a lovely mayonnaise. Eat your heart out, Helman’s

  2. I have gone from being unhungry to hungry.

  3. narf77 says:

    I have to say that coke is a good cure for hangovers! My brother (who regularly partakes of the amber fluid) swears by a can of coke first thing in the morning to knock his hangovers for 6 (although he does then have a few more cans of the amber fluid…). Those bagels look heavenly and I am a vegetarian! I hope your head has stopped pounding and you don’t feel queasy any more. Nothing like a hangover to spoil a good memory (at least on the day you are having it…)

    • b-kom says:

      All good here, have segued nicely into a cold so the hangover is a distant memory!

      • narf77 says:

        Yeh…it would seem like its “colds all round” on both sides of the globe…my brother swears by coke for colds as well…(I have a sneaking suspicion that my brother is being paid to make these statements…)

Leave a Reply

