Muffins, Basically

Afternoon.

It’s quite logical to want to bake, to turn on the Shit Oven at the tail end of what is, for England, a rather warm day.  It may well be a result of you having done not much at all.  All that fighting talk of ‘yeah, I can’t drink too much cause I need to go to the gym tomorrow’ that was oft-repeated throughout the party you attended last night actually played out as a day sitting on your ass, in various sun-soaked locations within a 100m walk of your home.

So, here is how to make a basic muffin mix.  I made choc chips today but the basic mix is basic – after you’ve made it you can add all sorts of things.  I like dried apricot and coconut.  I like rasberries.  I like cranberries.  Blueberries.  Whatever you like.  You get the picture.

They take about 5 mins to mix and 20 mins to cook so you’ve not long between having an idea and having a muffin.  Perfect for these modern days.

20120527-182456.jpg

The recipe.

You’ll note I’ve failed to add ‘add the egg’ to the milk and sugar mixture.  Make sure you add that egg.

Put the oven on to warm.

20120527-182502.jpg

Ingredients, as above.  I didn’t end up using the white choc chips.  I used the choc choc chips.

20120527-182509.jpg

I melt the butter in a mug, in the microwave.  This is the mug I used today.  It moved in when the boyfriend did.  He says it came from the SoM theatre premiere wotsit, and that they had been serving mulled wine in it.

*raises eyebrows*

20120527-182515.jpg

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt in one bowl.

Mix the egg, milk, sugar, vanilla and butter in another bowl.  So far so basic, like I promised.

Then, in about three lots, whisk the dry stuff into the wet stuff.

20120527-182521.jpg

It’ll look a bit like the above.  It tastes ace.

At this stage add your flavours, whatever you choose.

I went with the aforementioned choc-chips as well as the leftover smartie-type things I had for the boyfriend’s b’day cheesecake a few posts ago.

20120527-182527.jpg

I don’t have a muffin tin so I just filled some cupcake thingies with the mixture, sitting them inside yorkshire pudding-type tin thing.

Put them in the oven for about 20 mins.

20120527-183110.jpg

Voila.

It appears as though those smartie-thingies weren’t made for cooking.  They look, now cooked, like the dried bones of a drought victim. Boyfriend has already taste-tested one and says it’s all fine.

20120527-183120.jpg

The dog earlier today, rolling in something awful, but having fun.

One thought on “Muffins, Basically

Leave a Reply

