Lamingtons

Hi. I’m back again. It’s me.  With, once more, thanks to the guest posters for filling in whilst I was gone.

So, I’ve already pissed off the boyfriend with the now-traditional post-trip-home talk that mostly goes ‘insert word here is better in Australia’ so I thought I might as well cut my losses and get him to help me make lamingtons. These are Aussie cakes of legend and if you’re really interested in the hows and whyfores and stuff then google the Country Women’s Association (Oz’s version of the WI) for more info about sizes and whatnot, if you’re intending to compete in country fairs with yours.

I’m not. We just used the good old Aussie Women’s Weekly recipe and bashed these out in under an hour.

20120506-153825.jpg

Ingredients (all pictured above, apart from caster sugar and milk):-

6 eggs
2/3 cup caster sugar
1/3 cup cornflour
1/2 cup plain flour
1/3 cup self-raising flour
2 cups (180g) coconut, approximately

Icing
4 cups (500g) icing sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
15g butter, melted
2/3 cup milk

20120506-153831.jpg

Here are six eggs.  You must now beat them for 10minutes with an electric mixer.  I used a handheld which I think is faster than a kenwood or similar, so I only did it for 6 mins.

20120506-153837.jpg

Your eggs will get all fluffy and creamy.  As above.  This is good.  Fluffy and creamy is not so good in other parts of your life, but here it’s what you’re after.  Add the sugar in stages, mixing well to dissolve it as you go.

20120506-153842.jpg

You need to triple-sift the 3 types of flour here, no cheating allowed.  You might get your boyfriend to do it.  He will make a big mess and, if you look carefully, will even manage to get flour rather accurately on the dog’s nose.  He will not learn his lesson and will repeat the errors again and again, all whilst wearing a black sweater.

20120506-153857.jpg

Fold the flours carefully into the beaten sugar and eggs, which will have massively increased in volume.  Pour into a 23cm slab tin (according to the Women’s Weekly), or if you’re our house, into a greased and lined square cake tin of aout 20cm.  Cook in a moderate oven (I used gas mark 4) for as long as it takes.  Took me 10 minutes but I have a Shit Oven.  May take you up to 30 mins.

20120506-153905.jpg

Sit down, take a break, read the paper.  Or the paper’s magazine, which is the same thing.  Admire your pyjama pants.

20120506-153911.jpg

Take the cake out of the oven and let it cool.  Most lamington recipes say you should use day-old cake for lammos.  So if you can be bothered, do.  We were not going to wait, oh no.

20120506-153917.jpg

Slice the edges off the cake and slice into whatever size you want.  The CWA has rules on this, which today I have Absolutely Not Followed.  I’d also recommend you fork or skewer the base and top a bit, so the chocolate mix has a chance to absorb there.  Don’t have to, it’s just what I do.  And of course I do things very averagely.

20120506-153923.jpg

Get your boyfriend to sift together the icing sugar and cocoa, making a huge mess as he does.  Then add the melted butter and milk, mix through and put over a simmering saucepan of water until it all liquifies nicely and thins to a consistency you can imagine working for you.  We went for syrupy.  I remember making lammos with my mum, aged about 8, and am sure I remember a rather watery choc mix.  8 was a long time ago, I might be wrong.

20120506-153929.jpg

Set out your sliced cakes, your choc sauce, your coconut and your tray for setting.  I put some kitchen roll under the tray as there are Big Drips and Heaps Mess guaranteed.  Seriously, if you have children I’d not recommend you make lammos with them.  Not unless you are looking for reasons to lock them in their rooms for a week.

20120506-153935.jpg

A wooden skewer is handy here.  Dip and soak the cakes generously in the choc mix, then transfer to the coconut.  Expect mess.

20120506-153940.jpg

Cover in coconut.  Be generous, not mean, with the amount of coconut in your coconutting bowl, it’ll make your life easier.  Do as the boyfriend does and hoover up any coconutty chocolate bits as they happen.

20120506-153945.jpg

Voila.  Let them set a bit and wonder what the hell you’re going to do with so many lamingtons.

Below is a photo of the dog who will be looking displeased and refusing eye contact as a result of your having stepped on one of her frankly numerous toes.

20120506-153950.jpg

Leave a Reply

