Kedgeree. It’s OK.

So.  Kedgeree.  For some reason it’s lived in my mind as a strange land for a long while, and recently I decided to give it a shot, remembering that I used to actually like my grandmother’s ‘curried tuna’ even though I didn’t like curry or tuna separately.

Doing a bit of research (I sat around for the  majority of the Easter break, I had some time) I found several hundred different recipes – different ingredients, different spices, different methods.  I kind of put together the best of what I read (including contributions from Stein and Oliver) and came up with what follows.  Essentially it’s an ok dish.  Not sure it’ll become a regular in our house, and maybe its tasty-factor (which is actually quite high) didn’t quite register with us as (i) we’d had the previously blogged curry the night before, and (ii) we’d massively over-indulged, beautifully, at the boyfriend’s parents’ at lunch, and so a big supper wasn’t really warranted.

Anyway.  Kedgeree.

20120410-094711.jpg

Get together:

bay leaves (I used two)

mustard seeds

tumeric (pinch)

cardomon pods (3, broken open)

garam masala (pinch)

chicken stock (bout  a litre)

couple eggs, to be boiled

350g smoked haddock.  Undyed if you can find it.  I couldn’t.

Also some fresh lemon and coriander or parsley for serving.

Oh, and rice.  Basmati.  We had wholegrain.  Bout 250g we used.  Or I did.

Oh oh, and some butter.

20120410-094716.jpg

In a big pan (one that you can stick a lid on) put the spices (inc mustard seeds, I used about a teaspoon), finely chopped onion and I reckon a good dessertspoon of butter.  Fry it gently for about five minutes until the onion starts to soften.

20120410-094723.jpg

Add the uncooked rice – stir it through, making sure it’s evenly covered with all the buttery spicey goodness.  Then add 3/4 of the stock, reserving the rest in case you need to add more later.  Stir a couple of times then stick the pan lid on.  Cook for about 25 mins or so, or until the rice is cooked.  I like the wholewheat basmati.  Or wholemeal or whatever it was – anyway it’s got a bit of texture to it, doesn’t go all soggy.  Keep checking occasionally to give a quick stir and to add more stock it you think it needs it.

20120410-094730.jpg

While the rice is cooking, poach the fish in a pan of boiling water, for about 5 mins.  Boil the eggs – I put mine in before the water boils and take out after around 6-7 minutes.  Be impressed with your own multi-tasking.

20120410-094735.jpg

Let the foul looking fish cool off a bit.  Go check on the dogs.

20120410-094740.jpg

Find that the rescue dog has really been feeling well.  And clearly confident.  Tell the rescue dog that it is being moved to a new home on Thursday.  Mop up the rescue dog’s tears.

(to reassure you, she is moving to a very posh home, she is lucky.  I wish I were going….).

20120410-094747.jpg

This is the rice, cooked.  You’ll note there is a bit of liquid left.  I turned off the heat and let it all steam a bit longer, and then drained off any excess as I hate dribble.

Flake in the haddock and, if you don’t live in our house, chop up the boiled eggs and coriander/parsley and gently stir through over a low heat, to warm it up a bit.  Chuck in another generous knob of butter.

20120410-094752.jpg

Eat after squeezing some lemon juice over it all.  Bit of fresh cracked black pepper is nice, too.  I am the only one who likes eggs and who can eat coriander, in our house, so this is what mine looked like.  Like I said, really quite tasty.  Recommend you eat it on an empty stomach, though.

20120410-094758.jpg

Recline, filling your belly even more with the final surviving easter bunny, wallowing in the knowledge that Tuesday brings work and dieting.  BOO.

2 thoughts on “Kedgeree. It’s OK.

  1. ediblethings says:

    Did the rescue dog have a go a the Silver spoon? Good job she’s off today…
    (seriously though, well done on getting her to look so spritely in such a short space of time)

Leave a Reply

